Almost in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • July 15, 2018, 5:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We’re almost 1/2 thru July. I’m almost done with the project in front of the porch. Still lots of work but 2/3 of it done and the worst part is behind me…I hope.
It is almost time for the kids to leave with their Dad to meet their Mom for the switch.
I’m almost a little relieved to have a break.

We watched “I Can Only Imagine” on Friday evening and it was powerful. If you haven’t seen it, do so, as I don’t think you’ll be sorry. Well, maybe some of you will, but it is a great history behind the composition of the song “I Can Only Imagine”.

It is so hot and even though we got a tease of moisture falling from the sky is was barely enough to settle the dust. Actually it didn’t settle the dust here, but others received a good rain either Friday evening or yesterday evening. We are officially in a drought even for those that received some rain. Things are burning up to include my yard grass and even the weeds are dying. Even though I’m watering every day, production of the green beans has been scarce. So far not enough even for a mess. I’m hoping that they will begin blooming again IF the weather cools down a little and it rains. If the humidity would decrease that would be extremely helpful for plants and animals and humans.

I called the new for the house AC repair guy. Yes, my AC is still working, however, water sometimes comes dripping out of my bathroom exhaust. Had this happen before and can’t remember what was done to stop/fix it. Dude went up in the attic 2Xs with the little shop vac to suck the tray out, and it started dripping again yesterday and he and the kids were gone, so I went up to check things out myself. Not enough water in the drip pan to cause a problem with overflow or the drain stopped up, so I just left a message on the repairman’s phone. I expect I’ll get a call back tomorrow. Problem is, I’m taking J to an appointment so we will leave around 9. I hope they call prior to that, and I may just call again in the AM. It isn’t an “emergency” but it must stop before it ruins my ceiling. Hope he can come tomorrow afternoon.

The corn seed that Rayray planted Monday made it’s way to the surface on Friday. I have hope it will have time to produce before any frosts can happen.
Her watermelon vines are doing great although no blooms yet, but I’ve got to come up with something so they don’t spread across the driveway. I think that fence panel will come in handy for both tubs of watermelon plants. Maybe some weed barrier on the ground and the fence panel for them to climb. Need to do it this week.

Seems like there was more I was going to write about, but....oh, I remember what I wanted to write about. We went to watch the baptising of my brother in law, his wife, his step son and his wife and 7 other people at the river this afternoon. Such a wonderful and joyful occasion even in the heat. They had started attending a church back in September of last year and a few weeks ago all accepted Jesus as their Savior. It made my heart soar!! Still does!!

Ok, that’s was the big one so am going to end this and get it posted.

Take care and God Bless


ConnieK July 17, 2018

I look forward to the movie. Hope the a/c issue turns out to be minor. Will pray for your rain and praises for your BIL & family!

Oswego July 17, 2018

We’re having more typical summer rains in our area but not so much where we live downtown. It’s been like a rain desert here and so hot and humid. I’d love a day-long gentle, steady rain!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.