Half a week with me in 2004 and a day in 2014 in Life

  • Feb. 7, 2014, 1:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo brothers090504_zps02f77ed0.jpg

Me 2-1-2004

I was a lazy bum all day today. I woke up at ten took a nap from 3-6, and this evening I've just sat around watching Trading Spaces. Later Im going to watch 1900 House on DVD. I watched Manor House last weekend which was fantastic. For those who have never heard of them its a PBS series that sets up real people in old homes and has the live like they would in the olden days.

It was kind of spooky though in Manor House because in the final episode they guessed what would have happened to the people if they had really lived in 1914. They had some dying in WW1, some of the women being Spinsters due to the men dying in the war, and some of them dying of the flu. It freaked me out so bad that I wanted an episode of the people in their real lives so I could be assured they werent really dead. :)

The big storm they were predicting (12 inches of snow by Monday) has kind of fizzled out.; Now they are just calling for an inch of ice tonight and up to 3 inches of snow tomorrow. It should be interesting at work tomorrow. When they called for 12 inches everyone started requesting Monday off. Finally the VP of the company said that since we are so far behind the office will be open but if you didn't feel safe coming to work you could take the day off without getting an incident. As an incentive to show up they said they would give an extra personal day later in the year. Since the weather is not bad I don't see any reason not to be there, and I wonder if they will charge incidents to those who don't show up and still give us the extra personal day.

Me 2-2-04

Gosh am I tired tonight. I think its tired in a good way (exercise and hard work) rather than tired in a bad way (high blood sugar). I stayed up late last night watching 1900 House. I didn't like it as well as Manor House. The people were too whiny. Speaking of Manor House Picasso pointed out that on the PBS web site it predicts what would happen to you if you lived in 1905. For me it said that I would have been in service but quit to get married. It finally had me living in one room with my parents, husband, and kids sharing a toilet with 3 families.

Our big storm was a bust. Only ended up with an inch of snow, and maybe an inch of ice. Now I have all these groceries that I bought and guess I have to cook. I already made a meatloaf, and a breakfast sandwich out of recipes I found in a Diabetes recipe book. Now I just need to make the chef salad I planned on for the next couple of lunches.

Most everyone showed up to work today but most should have stayed home since not many were in the mood to work. Brenda had to share this story with me......

DULUTH, Minn. -- A cat found out in the Minnesota cold has earned the name "Frosty."

A man found the 4-year-old gray-and-white tomcat frozen to the ground in Duluth on Jan. 6. It had been about 20 below that night.

One eye was frozen shut, and he had open wounds on his head and neck.

Kelly Johnson works at the city animal shelter. She says she didn't think the cat would live. But she gave the dehydrated cat fluids intravenously, and wrapped him in warm towels straight out of the dryer. She repeated the process every two hours, and came in during the evenings to check on him.

The cat didn't move for three days. But now he's OK. Frostbite left wounds on his ears and burned away patches of fur.

But animal workers say the cat seems to be grateful for all the attention, and they expect to find a permanent home for him soon.

Then Jeri was talking about a day when she was working at home and heard the sound of two people talking upstairs. She hid in her son's closet and called 911. They made several trips into the room she was in and the entire time her cat stood in front of the closet she was in meowing. I could just picture myself in the closet with five cats giving me away.

I didnt feel like getting out of my warm bed this morning so I took my first personal day of the year. I spent the day cuddling with the cats and reading Dear Brother. A book of the letters from William Clark to his brother Jonathon Clark. Its good but the author puts footnotes at the end of each letter. I would like it better if the footnotes were on each page.

I kept thinking how wonderful it was that these letters had been preserved, and wishing that I knew of a secret stash of old letters from my great great grand parents day. Then I watched this show called Cash In The Attic with people taking their family heirlooms and selling them at auction. I bet their grandmas were rolling in their graves.

Someone asked the other day about Oink and catnip. Oink has no interest in catnip. He was just high on love in that photo. Actually Oink does have an interest in catnip but only in eating it. He doesn't get all nuts like some cats do.

I did make it out of the house long enough to go to Curves so Yay for me. :)

Me 2-3-04

I have hurt feelings tonight, or as Gina said when she was little hurt feelers. One of my favorites went favorites only without any notice.She has been a favorite of minefor several years and I'm hurt that she would write me off like that. I think sometimes that lots of people blow me off because I don't have a boyfriend or kids to talk about.

Another big storm predicted for tonight. So far all I see is a dusting of snow. Even if we get the six inches predicted I don't imagine the boss will let us have a snow day.

I was a little disappointed to find that my blood sugar was up to 300 this morning.I thought Curves would really help bring it down. Of course thats not very realistic thinking since I'm still eating plenty of junk food and forgetting to take my pills half the time.

Hmm well I made a promise to write every day this month but I'm running out of things to say. I could talk about work but that wouldn't be very interesting to anybody reading.

Gateway has taken to sitting in front of my shed waiting for me to come out and feed him. He even wants to be petted. i imagine I could get him to come inside but Pepe has put his foot down. Everytime he sees Gateway he has a little snarling fit.

 photo 072705oink_zpsf6e0ab4a.jpg

Me 2-6-2014

Oinky Boinky Pudding Pie. He kissed the girls and made them cry. Poor Oinky. He always took second place to Figaro in life and in death. I let out a big sigh when I saw that I had written everyday the first week in Feb of 2004. I am curious though to keep reading and see what happens to working out with Curves. I was struck though by how much TV I was watching. Now I rarely watch TV, except during football season. Also I have no intention of using a personal day to stay home and read and cuddle cats. In fact this year I plan on not taking any personal days until December and then taking the last 3 Mondays in December off!!

Good Things I did for me

Ran 3 miles

Worked out with Angie

Stayed in Calorie range

 photo brothers110104_zpscae4d06d.jpg


pb reader February 07, 2014

Oh, that'll be great, three long weekends in December.

I read this in OD, but I had deleted my diary, so couldn't leave a note. You know that means that your diary is the last one I read in Open Diary.

eolhsand February 07, 2014

I live with a black cat too, named Waldo. He's my roommate's, unfortunately. Warrants a picture of him in my diary (my hopes of posting pictures in comment boxes has just been shattered).

eolhsand February 07, 2014

Aaaand I can't figure out how to insert pictures into entries. I'm computer-illiterate.

Spinster eolhsand ⋅ February 07, 2014

Pictures are easy on Prosebox. Where do you host your pictures? If its photobucket take whats on the html line it should start off with

Spinster eolhsand ⋅ February 07, 2014

the rest of the below note should read bracket a href and paste that in your entry

Squidobarnez February 08, 2014

I'm so proud of you for keeping up the good work, and I'm so glad to be able to read you here.

PB-buddy-huggies

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.