Summer clouds in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • July 12, 2018, 10:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“If we if we could see the clouds from the other side where they lie in billowy glory, bathed in the light they intercept, like heaped ranges of Alps, we should of be amazed at their splendid magnificence.

“We look at their underside, but who shall describe the bright light that bathes their summits and searches their valleys and is reflected from every pinnacle of their expanse…”

Author unknown

Summer is a special time of year as far as memories. Who can ever forget the exhilaring feeling at the beginning of summer when schools lets out? Summer has always meant freedom from many wearying and burdensome months spent in classrooms staring out the he windows in boredom.. Memories of summer vacation, swimming in a mill pond, fishing in a pond way out in the country and heading to Myrtle Beach for a truly wonderful couple of days by the ocean in the days before high rise hotels and condos stretched along the coast for 30 miles. I don’t even recognize the place today.

But summer has always been very hot and humid in the South, and it’s getting hotter by the year as the planet warms and the climate changes. When you’re young, you can tolerate it much better. I remember sweating buckets mowing lawns in the intense summers of my youth in New Orleans. But physically, it was doable, even tolerable. Besides, that was how I made my spending money and saved up a modest amount for college.

Now when I do venture out in these sweltering days of July in Charleston, I feel smacked by the heat whenever I get out of my air-conditioned house or car.

There’s something about summer also the that sets it apart from the other seasons and that’s the massive, billowy white clouds that float overhead or congregate in towering masses on the near horizon. When I’m driving toward them they seem so far away, but are they? The cumulus clouds of summer just make me feel good. My imagination takes flight to those far off pavillions in the sky.

At our Waterfront Park the other day I stared at the clouds in amazement, as if I’d never seen such a grand spectacle. Summer days in the future may become too hot to bear, but as long as there are billowing clouds, there will be memories of what once was.


Last updated July 15, 2018


Marg July 13, 2018

Clouds have often fascinated me but there's nothing like the white, fluffy, billowing clouds of summer in a brilliant blue sky :)

Oswego Marg ⋅ July 15, 2018

Absolutely! They stir all kinds of imaginings.

Deleted user July 13, 2018

It is so different seeing clouds from the top. You can almost imagine walking on them !
It’s so hot here too that it’s almost unbearable to stay out in the heat of the day. I have to go out and in , if I am gardening or I get overheated. Still I love the sun and Summer goes way too fast !

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ July 15, 2018

I miss seeing big clouds from the top but any way I see them they are always wondrous!

Deleted user Oswego ⋅ July 16, 2018

They are.

middle age pearl July 13, 2018

Wonderful!

Oswego middle age pearl ⋅ July 15, 2018

Thank you! Words can convey my thoughts about clouds, but the many photos I have taken of them really stir my soul!

Newzlady July 14, 2018

Very nice. I love billowy clouds.

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ July 15, 2018

I love taking photos of them!

Kristi1971 July 15, 2018

I love clouds! They tell all sorts of stories about our planet's weather and environment. I spend several days out of a year doing cloud observations for NASA. Super fun project.

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ July 15, 2018

I bet that would be fun! All my life I have been fascinated and enthralled by clouds!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.