Damn Stinkin' Hawt! in A New Beginning

  • July 11, 2018, 10:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As my Grandmom used to say, “It’s just damn stinkin’ hawt!” When I refer to Grandmom I always ONLY mean my Mom’s mom, Anna J. Draper, of Smyrna, Delaware. My Dad, of course, also had a mom, Lucy Frost Gaston, but she died when I was five and I was such a shy child I doubt that I ever spoke one word to her. Moreover, Dad’s mom had so many grandchildren I doubt she cared much whether I spoke to her or not! But my GRANDMOM, Mom’s Mom, lived until a few years after I got married, and we lived with her throughout my jr. high, high school and college years. I talked to her LOTS. She talked to me lots. We sat at the kitchen table and played 500 Rummy together lots. She was very funny, sometimes meaning to be but other times just WAS, to her four (just me and my siblings) grandkids, who loved her sailor-like speech, her astounding way of driving a car (by her own rules) and many other things about her.
I think I am going to be the same kind of old woman my Grandmom was. She was smart as a whip, spoke her mind, and cussed quite a lot....but only the rather mild shits, damns, asses, and hells, not the even more horrible words. :oO !! She did not give a damn about being ladylike and she followed her own rules, nobody else’s. Yet she was a nice person. Not “church lady nice,” just regular nice. I suppose she probably yelled at people in anger a time or two in her life, but I never heard it.
Before my parents and I moved from Ohio to Delaware to live with Grandmom when I was thirteen, Grandmom had lived in her big ooooooold three-story brick house with her three sisters. Grandmom was the youngest, but to my mind (when I was a child), they were all old. Grandmom was, scandalously enough for that day, twice divorced. Mary was a widow. Cora and Venie (short for Lavinia) had never married. But by the time we moved there, it was only Grandmom left.
My Grandmom divorced Mom’s Dad when Mom was a young child, and so Mom was raised by the four women of the house.....more by Grandmom’s sisters than by Grandmom. Grandmom went out to work to pay the bills!
Now here is a skeleton in the family’s closet!! After divorcing my Mom’s Dad, Grandmom was married for a fairly short time to a man named.....are you ready for this??....Bony Skaggs. Yes, you heard that right. I don’t really know how much in love one has to be to marry a man named Bony Skaggs, and willingly take on a name like Skaggs. But somehow I really think that if that had been Joe’s name....I would never have gone out with him! :oO !! Turns out, though, that not just one but TWO women fell for Bony Skaggs! Because my Grandmom kicked his ass out when she was perusing the newspaper one day and found a birth announcement of a child born TO MRS. BONY SKAGGS! She knew there weren’t two of ‘em. And she knew she hadn’t just had a baby!
Anyhow, I just thought it would be fun to share that.
Grandmom also smoked, so she coughed a lot in the mornings, and as a teenager my bedroom was right across from the bathroom and I got to hear it. She’d hack and sputter and splatter away in there, interspersing the coughs with farts and expletives and it would go something like this: “hack-hack-HACK-HACK-HACK! Damn cough!! gack! hack-hack-POOT!!-HACK-HACK! DAMN COUGH!!” What times we had! :oD !!

Movin’ on, though…I am up in the night because apparently this is not a night for me to sleep. Oy. If I do everything right, hopefully I will fall asleep when I go back to bed. For me “everything right” means....be on the computer until I get hungry....then eat a turkey and cheese sammitch (the tryptophan is sleep-inducing) and have some milk.....then take a shower if I didn’t already, and then bed. My legs are a bit sore because I have done too much sitting over the past 2-3 days, so I’ll rub some Biofreeze on them before I go back to bed too. Tomorrow I need to go walking somewhere, whether it’s HAWT or not!!


GypsyWynd July 12, 2018

I love your Grandmom! You described her so well, I could almost see her.

thesunnyabyss July 12, 2018

what a great memory of your family, she sounds like an amazing woman!

I hope you got your walk in before it got too hot!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.