Oops in Ponderings of the Universe

  • July 2, 2018, 10:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I suck at PB lately. I’ve been sort of reading, not really commenting and definitely not writing. Oops.

So, what’s been going on the past few months?

Most notably, Aaron and I got engaged :) He proposed as we were waking up for the day on May 6th, our anniversary. It was perfect. Now we’ve got people asking when we’re getting married and I’m like “Hey! We’ve been together for 14 years, so surely we have another 14 years to plan a wedding!” :P I’m not really a wedding person so I’m not sure what we’re going to do. The current (mostly joke) plan is to go to Vegas to be married by an Elvis impersonator while all attendees including bride and groom also dress as Elvis. I also like the idea of eloping because it doesn’t require planning to the same degree as a wedding. Anybody want to plan my future wedding for me? :P

In other news, the other two concerts in my crazy concern week way back in April/May were fun. I felt SO out of place at the George Ezra concert. Everyone there was so YOUNG. It was weird and I felt uncomfortable. It was probably my least favorite of the three concerts. The Dead South concert, however, was amazing. It was in a venue with a 250 person capacity and we ended up right in front. They were phenomenally good. I was damn impressed. We stuck around after the concert and met them and they seemed very sweet and humble. I talked to one member about how he missed his cat and then another band member joined in and talked about how excited everyone got whenever they got to meet a dog while on tour. They’re coming back this fall and we’ve already got tickets to see them again :D

A couple weeks ago Aaron and I went to Ohio and saw the Monkees Mike and Micky show. I also got tickets to the sound check and it was so fun! It was great listening to the banter and seeing the band work out some issues on some songs. They performed Propinquity, which is one of my favorites and one I’d never think I’d hear live. As we were walking into the soundcheck, the backup band and singers were playing Led Zeppin’s Black Dog but singing the Monkees theme to the tune. It was super amusing. The concert itself also great. It was definitely more about the music than the Monkees TV show-related gimmicks. They also performed St. Matthew which is another Nez song I never thought I’d hear live. It was pretty perfect.

While on that trip, we also went to the Wilds, which was amazing and I want to go go back and scratch rhino bellies because that apparently is a thing. We also met up with longtime OD/PB friend Dorkus Aloneus for dinner and much fun conversation was had. Though I must admit, meeting up with online friends while traveling makes me feel a little melancholy as we tend to get along really well and I get sad about how far we live from one another. That being said, it also makes me feel more motivated to travel and meet up with you all, so that’s probably a good thing :)

Hmm…what else…Work continues to be crazy and I think that’s just going to be permanent. We are an increasingly busy practice. Good news, though! We’re going to be hiring another veterinarian for sure and I convinced one of my vet school friends who is moving back to the area next month to apply. My boss is looking at her resume tonight. I hope she gets hired. I think she’d be a good fit and, as much as I talk about how crazy it can be, it really is a good work environment, especially as far as coworkers are concerned.

Speaking of co-workers, T, one of our technicians has moved out of state. I miss her. We’ll be hiring more techs in the coming weeks and I really hope they are good fits. We have two newer techs/assistants and I really like them. They seem to like me a lot, which makes me happy. I go out of my way to make sure the techs are comfortable around me and know that I respect everything they do. We also hired another receptionist and, though I haven’t interacted with her a lot, she seems nice so far, though surprisingly normal. I image her weirdness will come out as she gets more comfortable :P

I did my first cryptorchid neuter, where one testicle hadn’t descended so I had to go looking for it. It was fun, though a little stressful. I also did my first leg amputation a few weeks ago. That was terrifying and exhausting. I kept having techs grab the other doctors so I could run things by them before I did them. I am neurotically nervous when it comes to new surgeries and surgeries in general. It went really well though and the patient is healing well and adjusting to life with one less leg. H praised me a lot. She’s a good boss-I think she realized how nervous I was about doing it. My one frustration is I wasn’t around when the patient came in for its suture removal. I’d really like to be able to see for myself how it’s healing.

J is on paternity leave, so we’re down a doctor again. Things will get insane again like when H was on maternity leave a few months ago. We’ll survive. Then two of the technicians will be going on maternity leave one shortly after the other. I really hope people are done having babies for a few months after that!

That’s all I can think of for now. I need to do another 101 in 1001 update soon!


Delilah July 02, 2018

Just wandered in off the front page...
Congrats! And yay for the Dead South! They're so much fun. I always try to catch them when they are in town!

I'm an Okking Fool Delilah ⋅ July 23, 2018

Thank you!

They put on an amazing show! I'm super excited for their show here this fall :D

four leaf clover July 03, 2018

Congratulations!!!! :)

I'm an Okking Fool four leaf clover ⋅ July 23, 2018

Thank you!

Emily July 04, 2018

Congrats!!!

I love hearing about your vet life considering we read about your whole journey through school.

I'm an Okking Fool Emily ⋅ July 23, 2018

Thank you!

TellTaleHeart July 09, 2018

Congratulations! Nothing wrong with eloping... at the end of the day, you're married, and that's really the most important thing, right? :)

So cool that you got to meet DA! He's one of my favorite people here. :)

I'm an Okking Fool TellTaleHeart ⋅ July 23, 2018

Thanks! So true!

He's a really great human! We've met up 3 times and each time has been a delight :) I'm always so pleased when IRL meetings of internet friends go well!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.