Hot. and Weary! in A New Beginning

  • July 1, 2018, 5:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Actually, much as I hate to admit it, I am BORED today because I haven’t gone off gallavanting anywhere. I used to absolutely love stay-at-home days, but now I often feel like there was something missing if I didn’t at least go to the store or something. But I had no need to go anywhere, so I didn’t go. Oh, Joe went to the flea market (again, because we both went yesterday), but he got up and went at the unseemly hour of 5:25 a.m. I had been up since about 3:30, and was just thinking seriously of going back to bed, when TA-DAAAAA, here he was calling down the hallway “Is there coffee?!”

So he went to the flea market, and I went back to bed. There was coffee, but I didn’t drink any because I intended to sleep!! And I did, verrrrrrrrry comfortably since I had neither Man nor Dog in the bed with me. :o) I didn’t get up again until 8 o’clock. It was GRAND!

The kids....Joey and his gf Stephanie....are coming over for dinner. I have a smoked picnic and fresh green beans in the crockpot. I’ve made deviled eggs and will make potato salad if the darn potatoes ever boil. I will make cornbread I guess. Joey is not a cornbread fan, or at least he wasn’t back when he lived at home. But maybe he is now, and I bet Stephanie likes it. I know Joe and I do! :o)

I don’t think I wrote about Thursday, when my sisters and I went to Lewes, one of our scenic beach towns. It was somewhat of a good day but a little bit of a bust. Still, good times were had by all three of us and that is what counts, not the parts that were less-than-stellar. I don’t really think either of them wanted to go because it was so HAWT. We met at Sandys; Carol was there when I got there. Neither one of them made any move toward getting ready to GO, even after I sat down and we chatted for awhile. I know they both like to get an early start when we go places, so this was a bit puzzling. Finally I said, “Well, if either of ya get up and start getting ready to go, I’ll join you!” They acted weird, in my opinion. Hell, they could have said, “Ya know what? It’s sooooo hot. Why don’t we just stay here and visit, and maybe go out to lunch in a couple hours?” I only think of “outings” because neither of them seems to be into just plain getting together and visiting. And I love them and want to see them. But to be honest?? I think I am much more eager to see them than they are to see me!! :oO !! And I don’t know why, because I am a fun person. I am nice. I am entertaining. I AM a good listener, but Sandy rarely has a lot to say. I love it when she does, though!! And I listen!!

I’m not in the mood (remember: hot! weary!) to give a blow-by-blow account of the whole day I had with them, but there were a few weird moments. Oh, and I learned that apparently I say the phrase “It is what it is” ALL THE TIME. I didn’t know I said it at all, really!! :oO !! but I learned not only that I say it all the time, but that people their age find it very annoying!!!!

Nobody I’ve mentioned this to knows that I say it either. But hearing that I do made me feel very self-conscious for awhile, because if I DO, I don’t WANT to....not if they find it annoying!

Aaaaanyway, though.....oh, did I tell you about the electric toothbrush from Hell?

I have this dentist. She looks about twenty, but I’m sure she is older than that because....well, she’s a dentist. I thought she was nice and very sweet when I first started seeing her. But time has changed my view. Now I think she’s deranged. And she is NEVER going to satisfied with my teeth, EVER. Anyway, she has been trying to get me to buy this SoniCare toothbrush, which they sell at the office for $140. Finally I caved, and bought one. AND I HAVE ABSOLUTELY LOATHED THE DAMN THING. It well and truly took every ounce of the joy I used to take in brushing my teeth, and whirled it out the window. The thing sounds like a jet engine or buzz saw in my mouth, bounces around on my teeth like a freakin’ jackhammer, and sends my saliva and toothpaste flying around the bathroom. I had decided to never use it again, but Joe (while not saying so, but it was just a matter of time…) worries himself about my teeth and is probably just sure I’m going to find some way of contracting tooth fungus and dying. Even though, I tell you, my teeth ARE FINE. I have not had a toothache in years! And I have teeth!!

But tonight this happened. I thought, “Well....dammit....I guess I should try using this damn thing one last time. MAYBE I’m doing something wrong.”

And oh my! Guess what?? I DISCOVERED IT HAS SETTINGS!! I had it on the medium setting! But it has a low setting too, so I switched it. And…and…it was set on “deep clean.” Fook that shit!! It has a setting for just plain “clean.” So I changed that too. AND IT WAS OKAY!! Seriously! I didn’t mind it at all! So I am proud of myself for not just giving up. Maybe she WILL be satisfied with my teeth someday after all!


thesunnyabyss July 01, 2018

I'm glad you got out, but I bet that heat you guys are having would make anyone weird, lol, I won't tell you I wore a jacket this morning on our walk,

you dinner sounds fabulous and yummy, and woohooo for figuring out the toothbrush, I am beginning to miss the easy days of just a regular old toothbrush and some floss, lol,

have a good night!! stay cool!!!

woman in the moon July 02, 2018

Congratulations on figuring out the toothbrush.

Here I am again! woman in the moon ⋅ July 02, 2018

It is something I'm counting as an intellectual accomplishment. ;o)

woman in the moon July 02, 2018

It is what it is - is an ageless saying.
I like hearing about your sisters.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.