Done with that bullshit task! in A small but passable life.

  • June 30, 2018, 9:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finished reading “Something Wicked This Way Comes” by Ray Bradbury. It was the last book in the pile by my chair. I had ordered three books from the library.

Thursday I went to go pick up two of them that were waiting for me on the way to Mom’s dentist appointment. After her appointment we went to the first new car dealer. A Honda dealership. I wasn’t impressed. Well, except for the Honda Fit I thoroughly checked out before a salesman found us. I really liked that not-so-little on the inside car. But it wasn’t what Mom had in mind. We asked for a CR-V to be brought up to look at. The guy brought a HR-V instead. The guy took our name and number before we left, with assurances that HE WOULD NOT call the number.

Yesterday, while I was at the pool he called. When I got home Mom was all wound up about, “a sale!”, “a special offer!”, and on and on and on. I told Mom he was a liar and I’d never do a deal with him. Fuck him.

So, today, first thing this morning, Mom is ready to continue the quest. I wasn’t. I got online and found a Hyundai dealer around the corner, two miles from the house. I found a prospective model to look at. I finished my morning coffee and reading and we headed out.

Five hours later Mom was the owner of a brand new 2018 Hyundai Tucson. What they call a crossover. We got a “Dazzling White” colored SE, the entry model. I refused all offers of “additional service contracts” so the price we paid was less than the price on the window sticker. We didn’t get to drive it home because I need to stop by the insurance company Monday morning and then take the old car and title in and get the new car. I’ll get a tutorial on all the features and buttons. Fucking thing looks like a spaceship.

What was Mom’s criteria? Room for her scooter in the back and to be able to get in and out of the passenger seat easily. Check and check.

My criteria? You know what it is. I dropped the rear 60/40 seat backs, crawled in and was able to stretch out full length and flat in the back. Oh yeah. A car I can sleep in! The future is looking bright. Check.

The best part of the deal? I’M DONE WITH CAR SHOPPING!

And that means I get tomorrow off. Well, except for a grocery run. Maybe.

Coffee, reading, pool time, nap . . . a normal day tomorrow.


woman in the moon June 30, 2018

Happy new car.

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ June 30, 2018

Thank you!

Deleted user July 01, 2018

That is kind of exciting ! Happy New Car !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.