Stoopid Stuff! in A New Beginning

  • June 27, 2018, 10:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Do you have any things you reeeeeaaaaally despise doing, that you “should” do, either because they’re good for someone else or good for you?? For me, going to the freakin’ dentist tops the list! I HATE going to the frickin’ dentist, not because I have a fear of it, but just because to my mind, it is a rather unnecessary pain in my ass.
The ONLY time I want to, and DO, go to the dentist is when I have a pain in my mouth!! And that doesn’t happen often. But dentists have this urgent desire to see every person who comes to them alarmingly often!
I broke off a tooth a year and a half ago when I bit down on a very UN-tender chicken tender from Redners. My husband fretted and stewed around about that until I finally, six months later, gave in and reluctantly found a dentist and made an appointment. Here is how it went:

ME: I am here because I broke off a tooth.
THEM: Well we need to take x-rays!
ME: It’s this one. (points)
THEM: Well we’ll just get you some x-rays.

THEM: Is the tooth hurting?
ME: no, not at all. I’m here because my husband thought I should come.
THEM: Well we need to schedule you for deep cleanings.
ME: Oooooo-kaaaaay. You said “cleaning-S.” That’s plural.
THEM: Yes, we do half of your mouth at each deep cleaning.
ME: Ooooooo-kaaaaaay.
THEM: You also have a cavity. You need a filling.
ME: Oh. Okay. What about the broken tooth though??
THEM: Well you should have it out, but so long as it’s not hurting you don’t have to.
ME: Oh! Good!

So, I went for the two deep cleanings. She (the dentist) tried to sell me an expensive toothbrush, but I didn’t buy it. Then they scheduled me for the filling. I wasn’t feeling like going when that came around, so I called and rescheduled (for months away). TODAY I have to go get a REGULAR cleaning. Why????? She wants to see if I floss, apparently! Well, ya know what? I don’t. But four or five days ago I started to, so that I can truthfully say “Well I sometimes do.” I cannot lie and say “oh yes!!” when it’s going to be obvious to her, the dental detective, that I don’t. But I don’t want to just flat-out say, “No,” because what if she says “Why?”

See, I think that, “Because I damn well don’t WANT to, that’s why! How about you just do what I’m paying you to do and stay out of my personal business??” is a perfectly reasonable answer. Yet, she is a sweet girl (well she looks about ten anyway) and I just don’t want to say that to her.

So, damn it, I am going to the dentist today, at noon. I can’t even make the trip fun by stopping to get lunch on the way BECAUSE I AM GOING TO THE DENTIST. :o(


thesunnyabyss June 27, 2018

I am not a fan of the dentist either, and a deep cleaning sounds dreadful, ugh,

I think more like you on this, I think if you keep your teeth and mouth decently you probably don't need to see them every six months as they would prefer, lol,

hope it goes well, hugs!

GypsyWynd June 27, 2018

I go every 6 months for a cleaning. I would rather go there than to the doctor. And yes, I floss, too. 😁

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.