My Shadow Is The Only One Who Walks Beside Me... in Chapter 9 : Oil Above Water

  • June 23, 2018, 2:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not okay right now.

Life is essentially a rope swing that I’ve thrown on and I’m clinging on for dear life because if I let go then I will fall and drown in the abyss below. The darkness that resides there rises at every opportunity to nip at my ankles as I swing between what I have been and where I’m trying to, it does so in order to distract me just enough that I lose my grasp and fall screaming into the belly of this beast that wants to swallow me whole.

There is no trigger anymore. My brain has simply fallen apart like a jigsaw left in the box, and for all the people trying to put it back together so that I can see the bigger picture, there seems to be a piece missing. The war between Ana and Mia came to a silent end and Ana returned victorious to stand upon my shoulders. The strangest thing is that I no longer care, she can stand on my shoulders and tell me no. I’m fed up of fighting all these fucking issues and demons all the goddamn time. I know I need some sort of regular talking therapy, not to try and resolve the past, not to try and sew up the present in some sort of pretty bow with a congratulatory rosette that screams “good effort” as my soul continues to scream inside. I think I need a regular talking therapist to keep me the fuck alive. Of course I’m not going to kill myself. I can’t. I won’t do that to my kids. I refuse to do that to my kids. Ma was never there for me, except occasionally physically, I know what it’s like to not have your Mum about, I know how cutting that is, I know the scars that leaves deep inside. I won’t do that to my kids. They are literally the only thing thing keeping me tethered to this godforesaken life.

I joined a medical trial. A mental health medical trial. They’re looking to see if there’s something in the blood to try and help diagnose Bipolar faster than they currently do. I don’t think I’m Bipolar. It’s never been diagnosed but then again, I don’t think they’ve ever looked, or thought to. I’ve certainly never opened up enough to tell them what’s really going on in my head because then that’s brings in a whole load of shit that end my career before it’s even begun.

Fuck this actual life.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.