"A REASON TO LIVE" in "WRITER@WORK: Stories From A Lone, Urban Girl"

  • June 12, 2018, 10:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I read about Anthony Bourdain and Kate Spade’s suicides, I suddenly think of Alexander McQueen. I think of Chester Bennington, Chris Cornell, Tommy Page, Kurt Cobain…should I carry on?

I’ve also thought of some people I know and strangers who are complete know-it-alls. The people I know who were on the verge of giving up but then fighting their way back up again. People I know and strangers who feel sorry for those in pain. Some sorrows are hard to name.
People I know and strangers who think people like them are all the same: weakling, cry-babies, attention-seekers, ungrateful brats, faithless…

I’d rather not carry on with the usual nasty comments. I’ve had it with them. In fact, here’s a sad fact you’d probably refuse to accept:

Sometimes, those who claim themselves to be more religious aren’t really that helpful.

You can get angry and defensive at me. Go ahead. I can take it. It’s good if you feel that your faith is still intact. Congrats if you believe that God is always on your side.

However, please refrain before you start posting those nasty comments about those who commit suicide. Think about the family and friends of the deceased. Put yourself in their shoes for once.

How would you feel? What would you do if you were them? What if it were someone you know, someone you care about?

More kindness, less judgment. None of them really wanted to die. They just wanted the pain to go away.

No matter how bleak everything seems in one’s mind, they still need to be gently reminded at least one thing – over and over again if needed.

A reason to live…

R.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.