Mr Moose and the training collar and other updates in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • June 7, 2018, 1:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Two months with MR Moose. A transition is being made. Moose was wild and jumper and escape artist.

A week ago, Me and the Moose took my wife to the train station. He was harnessed up but the dumb old rail forgot poop bags. So instead of taking the Platte River trail. We went to the Northridge Rec Center, in Highlands Ranch. There is a nice walking trail there as well. Moose and I usually access the Diamond K Park , Dad Clark, and Mountain View Trails near our house. Also I can pick up poop bags. They are small lol so grab a few. Like Like picking up 120 lbs of poop with a sandwich bag.. LOL An exaggeration .

The trail is new to Moose, its wooded and lots of new smells. There were a lot of dogs. I was able to dodge or wait. But the tugging and lunging and tantrums were starting. The straw that broke the camels back. We met a woman walking two boxers. Well we’re off trail by 20 feet. One fed off the other. He really pissed me off. He thought he was gonna be the ALPHA on the walk well he thought wrong. I terminated it short because we logged 1.7 miles. We walk 2.1 to 3.1 miles per day.

I went to Petsmart and got a PetSafe brand training collar. It has a tone mode, yep that gets attention. A vibrate and what I call a NUKE option it’s a shock. The nuke ranges from 2 to 15. I set it to 13. PetSafe is part of Invisible Fence, which I use as well, due to my “theme fencing” that I can’t modify. I’ll give an Invisible Fence update here as well.

Okay. Charged up and collar on. Has a remote I can tone, vibe or nuke. We’re on day 5. I “nuked” the Moose about 3 times, This was previous walks, not today. That got attention. I tone first, and nuke if I have to. Tone and NO!! works now.

We have met Joggers Bikers, walkers and dogs. Off trail, just off trail. A tone , and is this the Moose I knew? The past two days NO Nuke. NO Tone. Today, 06/07 we were feeling our Oats so to speak. Many Dog meets , walkers , joggers, other dogs in yards. I did TONE only. calmed and did great.

Yesterday 06/06/2018 Invisible Fence TEST:
Our lawnmowers came. They know per my instructions to latch the gate. Well they didn’t. Now I let Moose out later, the gate seemed closed. With weather and storms coming, the wind opened the not properly latched gate to open. This is about 430-500 pm.. Moose is in the back… No he’s not. I catch a glance of a black object, out of my Den window in front. Okay, I’ll see where he is. Moose COME!!, something I need to work on. No Moose, I walk down from the deck. NO MOOSE and the gate is open. ARRRGGGHH. I tell my wife who just came in from a Business trip, Moose has bolted. I go out the front. Call his name. He’s nosing in the bushes. He did not breach the zone. “GET IN HERE” pant pant like whats wrong dude?

Our housekeeper said “this is not the same dog”. Progress, and getting better. Mr. Moose what can I say.


Last updated June 07, 2018


MageB June 07, 2018

What an adventure this is proving to be...one we are all taking with you. He's going to be a great dog if you live. LOL

ChallengerSeven June 07, 2018

:-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.