More Entry Page Sweetness in Site Updates

  • Feb. 5, 2014, 11:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

OK, so I think this will be a pleasing update. I'm pretty happy with it. There might be some glitchy things but here's hoping it works for the most part.

First of all, and please note that this is on large displays over 1200px wide:

Photos can expand beyond the entry margins! Like so...

Daenerys

Ermahgerd! Wur mah durguns?? Daenerys Targaryan

Sweet, sweet, hi-resolution good times. That's some good stuff right there. For best results, put your images on their own line with a blank line above and below.

This expansion should also work for Youtube videos. Quick tutorial for the noobs: just paste in the Youtube URL. None of that other gobbledegook (yes, gobbledegook is a technical term) is required and will simply litter up your entry if you include it.

Here's my beautiful demo video, where Vader finds love.

All right, let's make sure this works. Fingers crossed as I hit save and verify the results...

UPDATE

Oh yeah, and now smaller images are centered automatically (they were oddly pushed off to the left before). Hopefully this is mostly good and doesn't cause too much grief.


Deleted user February 05, 2014

This is a great feature. Thanks, man.

BaybNJoe February 05, 2014

It worked! Thanks a lot! When you download a picture, do you need to have it hosted on a site like Photobucket or can you upload from your own computer? Thanks!

KT

simple mind BaybNJoe ⋅ February 05, 2014

Right now Prosebox doesn't host any images, so you would have to use a service like Photobucket or Flickr.

Deleted user February 05, 2014

Here is a little challenge. If I were to click on the picture, can you zoom it to full screen. Click again, bring it back to original size. ;-)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ February 06, 2014

Yeah, that would be pretty cool. :)

Etoile Filante simple mind ⋅ February 06, 2014

I second!!

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ February 06, 2014

Hi

Please check these out as a sample/reference on what I was talking about:

My first choice for growing images http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/expandoimage.htm

My second choice - this is more of zooming part of images rather than growing and shrinking them in place. This is not an ideal end user experience. http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/featuredzoomer.htm http://www.elevateweb.co.uk/image-zoom

Deleted user February 05, 2014

Hope we can download pics from our drives soon. My #1 choice isn't hot-linking cuz you never know if the pics from the site you got them from are going to be removed or get hacked. Then you get stuck with "photo not available" in your entry or something like that.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ February 06, 2014

Hi Hosting pictures is an expensive endeavor for a site like this.

May be one of these days, there will be a paid service of ProseBox where you get to upload pictures and embed it to the entries.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ February 06, 2014

Yes.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ February 06, 2014

Probably at some point, though it would most likely be a premium feature to host user images.

Deleted user February 06, 2014

Awesome, m'lord.

Cat Mommy February 06, 2014

Very much appreciated. As was your comment. :)

Rogue February 06, 2014

That's awesome!

Deleted user February 06, 2014

Yayahhh!.

Life Is For Living February 06, 2014

Ooooh la la! Thank you, Sir!

here is no why February 06, 2014

is there a way to make a my chemical romance song immediately start blaring out of my reader's speakers when they view my entries? also, more animated skull 'n flames gifs.

i kid, i kid. you're doing a great job man. thanks for everything.

Jane Says here is no why ⋅ February 06, 2014

Hahaha, I actually clicked away, caught the first sentence and clicked back just to read your comment.

Overachiever here is no why ⋅ February 06, 2014

...Yes. Yes there is a way. I only use my power for good, not evil...but I could be tempted to share for this.

Deleted user February 06, 2014

You're awesome! And the demo vid you picked out? PERFECTION.

moongate February 06, 2014

Sweet!

Jane Says February 06, 2014

These are great! You are great. Thank you :)

Deleted user February 06, 2014

I still wish I could post pictures right from my hard drive...

Overachiever Deleted user ⋅ February 06, 2014

I think picture hosting would be a most excellent premium feature.

Leanne 🌈 February 06, 2014

Overachiever February 06, 2014

You rock!

Lepetit pumpkinesque February 06, 2014

Thanks!

Nebiyah February 06, 2014

Nice! Would like to bring to your attention... if there's no space between a paragraph of text and the image beneath it in the editor, that text will extend outside the margin too. At least it's happenin' in my latest entry. If that's by design...well then carry on :)

simple mind Nebiyah ⋅ February 06, 2014

Yeah, it's more of a side effect. That's why I suggested putting the blank line before and after your image for best results - otherwise the text gets jammed in the same paragraph, and the same margins apply. :)

nthaniel February 06, 2014

Got a question. Do any current desktop clients work to post to prosebox? I'm talking like Livejournal has (or had, anyway; haven't been there in a while) Semagic....

simple mind nthaniel ⋅ February 06, 2014

No, I don't have anything like that yet.

nthaniel simple mind ⋅ February 06, 2014

Ok. Thank you! I was kinda hoping this was a one-client-fits-all-capable site! lol

BaybNJoe February 06, 2014

Thanks for the answer! I'll keep my Photobucket account, then. :) One other question, or rather a request. Do you suppose you could create a feature that allows us to customize the look of our books? I really like the cursive font, but I don't care for the teal blue. The white backgrounds can be too stark. I know, I sound like a busy-body! Sorry! Just a thought! :) Thanks for listening.

KT

BakaPhoeniX February 06, 2014

Love it.

Thanks!

Tea and Sympathy February 07, 2014

Woot. Awesome stuff right here.

Figuring It Out February 07, 2014

I uploaded photos to photobucket and used the link on the photo through their site as my link to input my pictures onto my entries here. That's how I used to do it at my other spot like Prose Box but it;s not working here. Am I doing something wrong??? Photos are important to me with my entries...

Figuring It Out February 07, 2014

So... ignore that last comment. However, it would be pretty awesome if somehow we could see the photos in our entries before we actually post them. And it would be pretty sweet to be able to resize them by dragging the corners :)

simple mind Figuring It Out ⋅ February 07, 2014

You actually can with the Preview button at the top of the editor (clicking toggles back and forth between edit and preview.

Ditch Witch February 16, 2014

lmao Ermahgerd! Wur mah durguns??

Marg February 21, 2014

I'm really pleased with the site so far and am certainly writing more now than I did on OD which is great so thanks so much for all your hard work!

Just wanted to check a couple of things - I seem unable to change the size of font or the font itself in an entry and just wanted to ensure that it's something that's not available on an entry at the moment? I want to print out all my entries but although they're coming out fine on the screen they're humungous in print and I can't find a way to change this. Do I just need to copy them into WORD or something similar just now for me to change the size or can I do that on here somehow?

simple mind Marg ⋅ February 21, 2014

No way to change it in Prosebox, other than the browser's zoom function. Which I don't believe has any effect on print size. Printing is something I haven't looked at, so at some point I probably need better print style sheets. :)

Marg simple mind ⋅ February 21, 2014

Ok no worries thanks - just wanted to check I wasn't missing something really obvious :)

(Sorry - see below - I put this as a comment by mistake - don't think I can delete it because it's on your page? Am I right in thinking that? If yes can you delete it for me? As though you don't have enough to do ........ :D)

Marg February 21, 2014

Ok no worries thanks - just wanted to check I wasn't missing something really obvious! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.