Why Should You Settle? (December 21, 2012) in Old OD Entries

  • Feb. 5, 2014, 10:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My friend has been talking to this guy over the past couple of weeks. She seemed to like him and I was excited for her...maybe more excited for her than she was for herself.

Let me explain...

She has been single pretty much all of her life. She is a great girl...sweet, intelligent, and funny. She has very low self-esteem though and it shows through. She compares herself to everyone it drives me insane...especially when she compares herself to me. It makes me sad that such a great person can feel so low about herself.

So this guy has been giving her a good amount of attention lately and it is new to her. I was happy for her because I thought she genuinely liked him...she doesn't.

I was a little confused when I found out that she didn't like him the way he liked her. But she accepted the date that he asked her on. I asked her why she had accepted and she said " Kayla it's not like I'm gonna get any better, he is a nice enough guy and he is decent so why not." I looked at her and I was pretty pissed off. I told her that it was crazy that she was going on a date with a guy just because she felt that she didn't have any other options. I gave her the best friend talk of you are beautiful and you will find someone that you like soon you just have to wait. I really believe that she will...anyone would be lucky to have her as a girlfriend. She got pissed and said " Kayla... you want MY blunt answer to the crap that you are feeding me?" " I am fat, it's not easy for me to find anyone that will ever be interested in me, guys don't like the way I look they want something that looks like you! It's not as easy for me as it is for you, so just leave me alone and let me do what I want to do."

I was pretty amazed at what I had just heard. I didn't say anything else I didn't know what to say. To hear that raw honesty from her was depressing. Did she really believe that? I guess she did...maybe.

I don't understand why someone would want to be with someone that they weren't really interested in or ever would be interested in. Maybe it is loneliness or desperation. I think that it is unfair to the person that the person is settling for and it leads to unhappiness in the relationship. So what is the point?

I guess insecurities can get in the way of prospering as a person and in relationships. This is a bitter truth. And ones insecurities are hard things to get past.

Hopefully not a lot of these kinds of relationships exist...


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.