The Rain Keeps Falling... in General Mental Anesthesia

  • May 9, 2018, 11:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had just got out of a 16 day hospital stay and now I just spent another 4. It’s not looking so good.

Please Help My GoFundMe Page Reach More People.

It started innocently enough. I saw my primary care Dr. Because I had a cough and vertigo over the past month. But while there, my resting heart rate was 147 bpm. She had blood drawn.

The following day she called me and said that my labs came back and my white blood cell count was 17.4 (normal is 3.4 - 10). She told me to go directly to the emergency room. So I did.

More blood work showed my lipase levels at 3,557 (normal is between 23 - 130). They covered me in stickers from head to toe.

Even without health insurance they didn’t hesitate to admit me.

IV, EKG, ultrasound, x-rays, CT scan, breathing apparatus…

It’s not a good look, swollen, red, exhausted (I had been up for 40 hours) and breathing into a tube because of incessant coughing).

All this resulting in a diagnosis of acute pancreatitis with bronchitis. They had me on 52 hours without food and were also seriously considering surgery to remove my gallbladder because the gallstones may be causing issues not only with the pancreas but also exacerbating my ulcerative colitis as well.

They decided against surgery because of my being on 60mg of Prednisone (and being on it for years). Because of the prednisone and my bodies inability to heal (I still have a bruise on my belly from an injection I had in Jan 2017!) it was much too risky. When I can get off the med though, it’ll have to be removed. Now I’m on Meclizine for the vertigo to add to everything else.

Why me???

So as if I wasn’t in enough pain already, I’m in even more.

I did get a referral to a pain management clinic, but when they called I found out that it costs $300. So… no pain management for me, and my next GI visit is on May 16th at $319.00. Just kill me now......

While in the hospital, they had me on morphine (a sugar pill in my humble opinion) but it must have done something because my resting heart rate went from 140’s to normal (60’s to 70’s). Now, at home after a couple of days with no pain medication, I’m back over a 100 - 110’s and climbing.


Marg May 10, 2018

What a body you must have Jaye to withstand all that you've gone through! I just don't understand why they keep sending you home when you're so ill! How does the Prednisone affect having surgery?

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ May 10, 2018

Other than painkillers, there was nothing more they could have done for me there, so they sent me home.

I have an auto-immune disease, so my immune system is severely compromised. Prednisone is an immune suppressant so if I had surgery the risk of infection is extremely high. Combine that with my inability to heal and having my gallbladder removed will likely lead to complications, hernia, infection, sepsis. What is normally routine has a good chance of killing me, so the bad far outweighed the good. (For now).

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ May 11, 2018

Ah right I understand.

I would have thought they would have wanted to keep you in to monitor you and control the pain because of your high heart rate but I guess it comes down to money.

Is there any word on what's happening with your brother-in-law?

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ May 20, 2018

Whatever words that have been said haven't been relayed to me. I'm always left out in the dark. I can tell you that a couple of weeks ago, after this post, I was told to pack all my stuff up. Being active like that triggered my colitis to worsen, it was a week of hell and going to that bathroom 20+ times a day, a lot of bleeding and excruciating pain.

It has calmed down since... Not only do I wish I had the money to help myself health-wise, but I really wish I had enough to get the hell out of here and on my own. I just can't take the stress anymore!

Leanne 🌈 May 10, 2018

Dude keeping you in my thoughts as always re-sharing your go fund link.

I hate knowing that you're dealing with so much pain. I wish they could have done the surgery for you damn it.

Your in my thoughts how I wish I could do more for you. ((((Hugs)))).

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Leanne 🌈 ⋅ May 20, 2018

Thank you. It means a lot. Been terribly difficult to post, depression has been severe... lethargy, crippling pain and so on... I just struggle to concentrate and focus these days.

My new Primary Care Dr. suggested doing a gallbladder cleanse, but he also said that there's a risk to it. With my current condition such as it is, the cleanse could break up the gallstones or make you pass them. If the latter were to happen and one got stuck in the intestinal tract (keep in mind the severe inflammation I'm going through) that could be lethal.

Leanne 🌈 Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ May 20, 2018

Seems there is always a BUT to things sigh damn if you do it & damn if you don't :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.