You turn 50 and it all goes to s@#* in The start of something?

  • May 9, 2018, 12:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I only write every now and then yet every time I do it’s about something bad. I feel like I hardly write anywhere anymore. I’m definitely losing that “skill”.

So here in Australia when you turn 50 they send you for all sorts of tests and that’s a good thing right? Catch it early, better chance of survival.

Last year I had tests that showed there was blood in my stool. I stopped drinking energy drinks and taking ibuprofen and I wasn’t visually seeing the blood anymore so I thought that issue was gone… Yet when I did the test the Government sends you when you turn 50, both samples tested positive for blood. I did that second test about March of this year.

So where we’re at today is I’m having a colonoscopy next Wednesday. I was going to write ”I’m scared shitless” but it’s kind of not really funny at the moment. I’m just getting over anxious about it. The reason I’m over anxious is, and I haven’t mentioned this to any doctor yet either, there seems to be some kind of growth from my bottom (sorry.. tmi.. I should have including a warning) and I guess they’ll see it next Wednesday when I have the colonoscopy.
Every time I think about it I think of Farah Fawcett… even back when she was battling her ass cancer, I thought “That’s going to be me”. The most undignified way to go out.. that’ll be me....

However that’s not the end of it. I also had the customary “you’re over 50, time for a mammogram” check. I had it, thinking all was well but they discovered white spots so I have to go for a follow up check tomorrow. I’ve read up on it and mostly it’s likely to be nothing, but I just hate that I have to do it on top of everything else!!

I just feel like my body is breaking down…

Anyhow, lets end on some good news.... A couple of weeks ago, hubby’s bike was stolen from our garage. Won’t go into details but there’s a chance I might have disturbed then when I went to put the rubbish out at 5am…
The police called last Saturday to say they’d recovered the bike!!! WHAT ARE THE CHANCES!!! It was mostly undamaged too!!! That bike cost hubby $2500.
So that’s some good news....

I’ll probably update once I’ve done these awful tests…
Oh, and the hospital where I’m having the colonoscopy at uses propofol for sedation. I can’t help but think about Michael Jackson!! At least I’ll sleep for a bit.

Over and out.


Mystery May 09, 2018

Things went to hell for me when I turned 48. Thyroid disease, problems with the medication, High cholesterol, High blood pressure (sort of), anxiety, lightheadedness...

blackpropaganda May 09, 2018

Best to know what the problems are - if there are any. I would guess piles - but what do I know. Are you still exercising - and how are things at home?

ermentrude May 09, 2018

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.