The Beginning (August 25, 2012) in Old OD Entries

  • Feb. 5, 2014, 5:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am so shy around new people...but around my friends I am outgoing, blunt, and always making everyone laugh.

High school for me was great. I got away from all the people who made fun of me and my friends. We were a different group of people than everyone else..we listened to different music, we dressed differently, and we were smart and opinionated...but we were only known for being "losers".

In high school we found new people that held the same interests as we did. We weren't considered "weird" ,"losers" or "nerds" anymore. High school holds great memories for me and I will never forget the amazing and interesting people that I have the privilege to call my friends.

This year I graduated. For three months I have been nervous, sad, and excited...about college. Throughout the summer my emotions went crazy. I couldn't believe that everything I did...the late studying, the AP classes, the extracurriculars...was finally going to pay off.

I tried to hang out with my friends as much as possible over the summer because I knew that I wouldn't be able to see them as much anymore once school started (we were all going to different universities). I found myself becoming a little depressed. I kept thinking that I would never meet people like the ones I met in high school; people that didn't judge you for being yourself. I soon came to terms with my fate and tried to develop more of a positive attitude.

Two days ago I packed away my belongings...clothes, pictures, and memories and said goodbye to my friends, family, and my old life. College is supposed to be the best years of your life...I hope that it is as good as they say. Wish me luck.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.