50 Books in 2014 50 Book Challenge

  • Feb. 5, 2014, 4:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. Under a Vampire Moon by Lynsay Sands (read in January, but OD decided to shut down so I didn't record when I finished it.

  2. Immortal Ever After by Lynsay Sands--finished February 5, 2014

  3. The One Lucky Vampire by Lynsay Sands--Started February 5, 2014. Finished it February 28, 2014. It was pretty good. It was a character mentioned in the beginning of the series (fifth book, I think) and wasn't mention much throughout. It was good to see what happened to him. As good as the last few, I believe, but as of her latest I think The Lady is A Vamp is the best.

  4. Storm Front (Dresden Files Book 1) by Jim Butcher. I actually started this book months ago but was never in the mood for it. I picked it up again at chapter 5 more interested than before--March 1, 2014. Finished March 7, 2014. Really enjoyed this more than I thought I would. The book really picked up at chapter 5. I guess if I had kept going I might have stayed interested. A bit of it was predictable but I enjoyed the fantasy of it and I like the relationship he has with the detective, Murphy. I also like Bob. I think everyone likes Bob. This book just gave you a taste of subcharacters and I am going to read more of the series. In fact book 2 will be my next.

  5. Fool Moon (Book 2 of the Dresden Files) --by Jim Butcher. Started March 7, 2014. Finished March 11, 2014. Moved a lot faster than book one. Very action packed. Dresden seems very realistic despite the fact that there's magic involved. The books are written in first person so you get his point of view throughout the entire book and his emotions are very right for the situations. Fear, sadness, euphoria. Maybe what I'm saying is that he's not super macho like you can find in some books. He's a character who can flinch at the right time. Thinking about going ahead and reading book 3.

  6. Unleashed (The Amoveo Legend Book 1) -- by Sara Humphreys. Started March 12, 2014. Never read this author before. I changed my mind about reading book 3 of Dresden. I'll get back to that. So far this starts off promising, but I'm not through chapter 1 yet. Finished March 16, 2014. Book was pretty good, but after the characters got together I got a little bored and ended up skimming the last fifty pages. Not really the book's fault, I think. I started about thinking about reading something more professionally written and wanted a historical. Thinking I'll go for a Julia Quinn, the next in the Smith-Smythe Quartet.

  7. A Rogue By Any Other Name (The First Rule of Scoundrels) -- by Sarah MacLean. Started March 16, 2014. Decided not to go with the Julia Quinn and went with this one instead. Still in chapter 1 and it's holding my interest which is important, right? I've got all three books in the series now so I can read them bam, bam, bam. That's why I put off the Julia Quinn. There's another book coming out but I don't know when and I didn't want to read the one I have without the next one waiting in the wings. Just the way I am. Finished March 19, 2014. LOVED this book. Loved it, loved it, loved it. I hated to put it down. If I hadn't caught myself I would have stayed up all night reading it. I loved Penelope and Michael. He treated her horribly throughout the whole book yet I was caught by the whole story. Michael redeemed himself wonderfully at the end.

  8. One Good Earl Deserves A Lover (The Second Rule of Scoundrels) - - by Sarah MacLean. Started March 19, 2013 Had to start this one the moment I was done with the first one. Hoping Penelope's sister Phillipa has a great story. Finished April 2, 2014. Loved this book as much as the first. Not real sure what I'm going to start next. I don't want to read the 3rd book yet because the fourth isn't due out until November this year. I'm going to wait so I can read both at the same time. I'm thinking about moving back to the paranormal . . . maybe Kerrelyn Sparks?

  9. V is for Vamp Woman (Novella) -- by Kerrelyn Sparks. Started April 3, 2014. The next in the series. Been a while since I've read her but it's a fav. Finished April 4, 2014. Cute short story. Short and sweet.

  10. The Vampire with the Dragon Tattoo -- by Kerrelyn Sparks. Started April 4, 2014. Finished April 22, 2014. Eh. It was okay. The heroine just didn't do it for me. But it fits in with the rest of the series.

  11. The Chapel Perilous -- by Kevin Hearne (Iron Druid Chronicles Short Story) Started April 22, 2014. This is a good in between story. Short, humorous. Helps me get through the story hangover from the last. Can't wait for the next book in the Iron Druid series to come out in June. Finished April 22, 2014. Great story. Just as good as the books. Wish it had been a little longer, though.

  12. Board Stiff--By Piers Anthony. Started April 22, 2014. Hmm. All I can say about this book so far is that it's easy to read and that it's over all . . . interesting. Reminds me of a long fairy tale. I keep waiting for the moral of the story. It was a real easy read and I got bored with it. I skimmed most of it and moved to the end with the happy ending. Finished April 23, 2014.

  13. Three Days to Dead--by Kelly Meading. Started April 26, 2014. Am so loving this book. Urban fantasy. Great story. Very gritty. I found this book in the paranormal romance section of the trade books store though it is more adventure than romance, though there is some romance in it. The book runs along the same lines of the Dresden Files with continuous adventures. Finished April 30, 2014.

  14. Impetuous-- by Candace Camp. Started May 1, 2014. It was an okay book. The treasure hunt kept me interested. I thought the heroine was a bit stupid despite how "smart and blunt-spoken" she is. Finished May 5, 2014.

  15. Grave Peril (Book 3 of Dresden Files) -- by Jim Butcher Started May 6, 2014. Finished June 2, 2014. Got so busy with other things that I just wasn't reading. But this book was as good as the others. I really liked it, really felt sorry for the Harry (the main character) by the end of it.

  16. Nearly Departed in Deadwood--by Anne Charles Started June 3, 2014. It's a humorous mystery. Pretty good so far. Finished June 15, 2014. Loved it! Can't wait to read the next one, but that will have to wait because my next book is going to be one that I've been waiting to come out for a whole year.

  17. Hunted--by Kevin Hearne. Started June 18, 2014. 6th book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. I wanted to re-read this before I read the 7th one. Just as good as the first time I read it. Finished June 29, 2014.

  18. Hounded --by Kevin Hearne The first in the Iron Druid Chronicles. Audiobook. Listened to this while walking. I don't remember when I started it, but I finished it June 23, 2014

  19. Hexed--By Kevin Hearne The second in the Iron Druid Chronicles. Audiobook. Started June 24, 2014. Listen to this while walking. Finished July 4, 2014.

  20. Shattered --by Kevin Hearne. Book 7 of the Iron Druid Chronicles. Started June 29, 2014. Loving it so far. And loved it to the very end. Finished July 6, 2014. By the title I was afraid that Atticus would become "shattered" by a death and I was afraid that it would be Granuile's. But it wasn't. Now I'm on pins and needles for the next one!

  21. Hammered--by Kevin Hearne. The third in the Iron Druid Chronicles. Audiobook. Started July 4, 2014. Listening to it while walking. Finished July 18, 2014.

  22. Optical Delusions in Deadwood (Book 2)--by Ann Charles Started July 6, 2014. Another humorous mystery.

  23. Tricked--by Kevin Hearne The 4th book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. Started July 18, 2014.


Deleted user February 05, 2014

Any good?

Indoorkitty Deleted user ⋅ February 06, 2014

Yes, they were good, but I thought the second one was better. More action with a bad guy to find. The other was more about soothing the woman's insecurities, but still enjoyable. I've read this series from the beginning, Starting with A Quick Bite. If you're into vampire romance this series is on the lighter side and funny.

Darcy0207 from OD February 05, 2014

I see a pattern here... I'm guessing you like this author and story line.

Indoorkitty Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ February 06, 2014

I do like this author. I've read all her books and this Argenuea series from the beginning. Some of them are better than others. And some of them are laugh out loud funny which keeps me reading.

Darcy0207 from OD Indoorkitty ⋅ February 06, 2014

humor is important. Have you read the Sookie Stackhouse series? I found those to be sexy and fun and interesting.

Indoorkitty Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ February 06, 2014

I am up to book 10 in that series. I read so many in a row that I needed to set it aside for a while. I haven't gotten back to it. But I do love watching the show. I can't wait for season 6 to come out. I've got 1-5. Have you read Kerrelyn Sparks? I love her vampire series. Light like Lynsay Sands and the first few books had great titles like: Vamps in the City and The Undead Next door. I'm a few books behind in hers that I'll catch up with (hopefully soon!)

Darcy0207 from OD February 06, 2014

The last titles you mentioned sound familiar - I may have read one or two. I read the Stackhouse books for a while, doubt I'll return to them I haven't seen the tv series at all. I did that with the Outlander series - read 6 in three weeks, then never returned to it. I like series, but sometimes they take up too much time. There's a wonderful one with Sherlock Holmes, after retirement, meeting a young lady... etc. Great. Again, I read to a point, stopped and will probably not return.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.