Hypocritical Chronicles of a Covetous Nature in Poetry

  • April 24, 2018, 5:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My Sun
|It’s like I’ve never felt the Sun before.
-----|But Sun is where I’m from.
-----|I’ve been away so long
----------|I forgot living was living
----------|and not
---------------|dying.
-----|Sun like thick, warm juice of yellow.
-----|Sun like I scraped my knee sliding into 2nd.
-----|Sun so good, we’re day owls now.
----------|We’re birds with wings, not of wax, but air.
---------------|One with wind of temperate warmth and that which carries melody.
----------|Merry trills met by flame-kissed ears of martyrs like me–
--------------------|boy, it burns the bitter from my bones–
-------------------------|that sound–
-------------------------|a dagger in the heart for each Sun I’d missed.
|I hope it ends on a sunny day.
-----|I hope it all goes in righteous flame.
----------|We’ll stand naked, on the asphalt, hopping
--------------------|toe
------------------------------|to
-----------------------------------|toe,
---------------|salivating over dreamsicles.
---------------|A dream of yesterdays.
----------|A dream come true comes without parole,
---------------|for rotten chill of darker days cleans the mind of torrid memories.
--------------------|Miss it, do we, the itch of perspiring skin.
---------------|Skin, brown-baked and coconut-scented.
---------------|Skin, bare and oiled.
---------------|Skin against skin,
--------------------|between sands,
-------------------------|and under waves.
-------------------------|Memories of better days.
---------------|It’s like I’ve never felt this Sun before.
--------------------|Because I haven’t.


My Moon
|Moon.
|Incandescent, breath-giving thing.
-----|A welcome depression to the dead and dying,
----------|revives the quiet with excited chill.
-----|No rays outstretched pining for mortal flesh,
----------|but coy,
---------------|unencumbered by the thought of other things.
-----|Other things like me.
----------|Other things with a body wished invincible–
---------------|invincible in the absence of other eyes.
----------|Other things to revel, like witches, in smoke and fire.
---------------|Freedom is that which I feel under its pale sheen–
--------------------|freedom for fingers tipping with electricity
-------------------------|and feet flung from Earth’s surface.
----------|There is power in the Moon.
---------------|A teal wash of the universe,
--------------------|a beauty found only in a Grecian urn.
---------------|Power to lift the anvil from my chest,
--------------------|to wash the mud from my eyes.
-----|The Moon grants me wishes.
-----|The Moon loves my stories.
-----|The Moon is cold and distant,
-----------------------------------|and faithful.
----------|Dying each dawn in a thousand soft blues of lilting accord–
---------------|I kiss the Moon away to charm the lives of other things.


My Killing
|I dream in red.
-----|A rage unyielding crowds my head,
---------------|my arms, my legs;
---------------|they’ve known weaker days.
-----|My Lolita, she’s a violent bitch.
----------|Single bullet between the eyes,
---------------|not a second to utter words from once-living lips.
-----|I don’t hate you.
----------|I just like acting on my apathy.
----------|Acting– I hope that’s all it is.
---------------|But, who made that smile crawl upon my mouth of broken teeth?
---------------|Who made my idle fingers play in pools of blood?
--------------------|Me.
--------------------|It is me who loves the Killing.
-------------------------|The absoluteness–
-------------------------|the “no going back” of it all.
--------------------|The arrogance of a man dissipating by my hand,
-------------------------|in a calculated strike
-------------------------|of vermilion bloom–
-------------------------|be it something that calms my savage heart,
-------------------------|in savage fight,
------------------------------|despite the singularity at its core–
------------------------------|that’s power I’d kill for.


My Sea
|Ink-colored poison poised on tips of living daggers.
|Little sense in savage eyes of little-known monsters.
-----|Looking up.
----------|At me–
---------------|Sweet meat.
----------|Each inch of indigo exists my brand new Hell.
---------------|A stomach-churning,
--------------------|skin-crawling,
-------------------------|nerve-wracking place of kracken.
---------------|I’m Europa on my way to Crete,
--------------------|except I’m on Europa’s icy back.
-----|Hold me as I seize
---------------|relentlessly.
----------|I’m epileptic for the Sea–
----------|a brain on fire for the water of which is not my nature.
---------------|Do I have gills or webbed feet?
--------------------|Or, does my soft belly flesh look like a roast dinner?
----------|The pool has taken to play tricks on my mind
--------------------|with each unseen corner being the origin of wet creatures.
----------|God, I’d slit my throat before floating on my back
-------------------------|on that perplexingly gorgeous, viridian deceiver.
---------------|”I’d get stuck in your teeth!”,
--------------------|I wish I could say
-------------------------|to hungry Earth aliens.
--------------------|That’s it!
--------------------|I’ve been probed!
--------------------|Delusions withstanding.
-------------------------|I’ve got sea sickness
------------------------------|and, yet, a love for the sea.
--------------------|I can finesse a jibe on a cold, sunny day;
-------------------------|weather the waves of nature’s hot temper;
-------------------------|but, tell me to dip my foot in still open-water?
-------------------------|Death sounds a most reasonable course.
------------------------------|Ten stabbings for the sailor!
------------------------------|I’d rather be gutted
----------------------------------------|like a fish.


My Killing Me
|Grossly discordant is an Eb played on my dead heart.
-----|It’s Louis’s holiday trumpet against my humid depression.
-----|A snail rotting in its shell, I retreat into myself–
----------|I mean, fall. I fall. I am falling… asleep.
--------------------|And at such a precarious time!
-------------------------|You’ll just miss it! I mean me… I’ll just miss it.
------------------------------|… all of it.
------------------------------|The whole enchilada.
-----|But, when I was lucid, I told myself “missing it all” was bad.
---------------|And, I mean really bad. Like, really, really bad.
----------------------------------------|I forgot why…
----------|So, I’m in it still,
---------------|but only|----------|just.
----------|In it enough to “attend”
---------------|but|----------|out of it.
-------------------------|Comatose.
----------|Sweet, musty oil drips from the tips of my hair and my mind floats
---------------------------------------------|to
--------------------------------------------------|dreams
-----------------------------------------------|to
-----------------------------------------------------|never
---------------------------------------------|be
--------------------------------------------------|accomplished.
---------------|Dreams I’d love to sabotage.
--------------------|Dreams I don’t deserve.
-------------------------|But I want to be read like butter!
-------------------------|I want your grandma and your third grade teacher to
------------------------------|read me to you like I’m Shel Silverstein!
-------------------------|I want my words not read, but absorbed.
-------------------------|I want you to lay on me and soak me up effortless.
-------------------------|I want to be a part of the machination of time.
------------------------------|I want all of this to not be for nothing.


Last updated April 25, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.