Pre-roadtrip roadtrip? in A small but passable life.

  • April 23, 2018, 3:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A pleasant, unexpected turn of events. That it was.

I’ll start at the beginning. I have an email account. I’ve had it for years. Mainly have it to have something to do every time I get online, which is to usually ‘select all’ and then hit the trashcan icon. Oh yeah.

I received an email Saturday morning. Which led to my giving out the number to my new smartphone to the first non-family member.

It was an old OD acquaintance. I don’t remember her old OD screen name, but like all female ODer’s I talked to I gave her a name. Which was Desert Rose which turned out to be the screen name on OD of a gay guy. But we kept the name.

Anyway, after texting a bit and deciding on a possible Sunday visit in the future, I thought maybe Mom and I could stop by on the way to Yuma. I was soon informed that her town was in the opposite direction and would add too many hours to the days drive.

So, I went in the house and asked Mom if she was doing anything this evening (Saturday) or tomorrow. She said “No”. I asked her if she wanted to take a short road trip. She said she would like that.

She already had her bag packed for the big road trip on the 29th so she was ready to go before I was.

I changed in to my street clothes, threw my pajama pants and T-shirt in a bag, grabbed my shower/pool bag and we left.

A couple hours later we checked into a La Quinta and got our first rewards points. Mom was hungry for lunch so I googled and found a food truck right around the corner. Then it was nap time.

We had made plans to meet at a Denny’s right around the corner at 5:30pm. Mom said she was staying and taking a bath.

I headed to Denny’s for the meet up at 5pm.

After waiting for a half hour with water and a newspaper, the meeting spot was changed to downtown at the city bus station.

Emma Pennyworth (my GPS gal) had me there in fifteen minutes.

A big hug, a short drive, and a short walk had us sitting at an outdoor sidewalk table outside a coffee shop. Nice conversation. Of course we’ve known each other for nearly a decade, so mainly it was just updating.

We made plans to meet up the next day and I dropped her off at her house.
.
.
.

Well hell, I’ll have to save the rest of the story until later. One typed page is about all my hands are up to anymore. (Even less with an ink pen and paper.)

So yeah, NPR and maybe a nap.


woman in the moon April 23, 2018

Nice.

Deleted user April 24, 2018

Glad you got the meeting arranged !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.