I have Sad in Ponderings of the Universe

  • April 19, 2018, 10:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m having an upset kind of day. I’ve felt sad and weepy since I woke up. It’s annoying.

There have also been upsetting things that have happened this week that are piling up to add to the general upset-ness of today.

Carl Kassell died. I enjoyed his news broadcasts, but enjoyed his humor and personality on Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me.

I learned that someone I went to high school with, who was maybe a year or two ahead of me, died unexpectedly from a pulmonary thromboembolism. I didn’t know him well, but there’s something about someone in your age cohort dying that really makes you ponder your own mortality.

We’re trying to hire the vet student who did an externship with us in January, but she’s not sure what she’s doing with her life and is pondering moving out of state. I’m bummed about it because I really like her and the prospect of her working with us sounded fun. I still don’t know what her ultimate decision is and hope she decides to stay. If she isn’t hired, then we’ll likely hire another new grad and that’s resulting in a lot of potential new-person anxiety for me. We have such a good dynamic among everyone at work so you never know what adding an unknown person to the mix will do.

I just learned that Bon-Ton’s corporation has gone bankrupt and is liquidating it’s stores, one of which is Herberger’s. I know it sounds ridiculous to be sad about the demise of a department store but it holds a lot of silly memories of hanging out with my mom and my grandma, when she was still of sound enough mind to go out with us. We spend a lot of time digging through sale racks and giggling about goofy things. It marks the end of part of my childhood and young adulthood.

I’m feeling mopey and tired. I can’t make myself get my act together enough to do laundry and I’m out of work clothes. Here’s to wearing a goofy outfit or some dirty clothes to work tomorrow :P


moonbunny April 19, 2018

I hope your goofy outfit tomorrow helps tomorrow be fresh, new, and happy!

My favorite quote is "Everything is okay in the end. And if its not okay then its not the end."

Get cozy, have a nice snack,and enjoy the evening.

I'm an Okking Fool moonbunny ⋅ April 28, 2018

I think I wore some teal pants, so that made the day pretty rad :)

I love that quote too!

Jigger April 20, 2018

I am so sad about Carl! Everybody else in my office is too young to know who he is or why they should be devastated.

I'm an Okking Fool Jigger ⋅ April 28, 2018

Youngins!

TellTaleHeart April 20, 2018

That's a lot of stuff to pile on. At least it's almost the weekend... maybe you can just chill, or even just wallow in the sad, if you want! :)

four leaf clover April 21, 2018

Aw I'm sorry. I hate sad days like that. Hope today is better and you have a good weekend.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.