My Final Site Update. Love, Simple Mind in Site Updates

  • April 17, 2018, 1:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is it I guess! Time to hang up my hat and let the new guys do their thing.

I’m not really leaving the site, so I’ll still be around. I’ll just be a regular joe! I can peacefully fade into obscurity. This is good.

Sentimentality has never been one of my strong points, but let’s see how this goes. It’s been five years since I first conceived of building some kind of box for holding prose. My life has changed a lot in those five years, fortunately in very good ways. It’s been quite an adventure. I’ve made so many friends here. It’s been sort of an odd dynamic for me, being the guy in charge. I’ve never been in charge of anything - I tend to have an allergic reaction to the word “management”.

But somehow I faked it until I made it, and with the exception of one major freak-out, I’ve kept it going pretty smoothly overall. I’ve created something the community is passionate about, and I’m so happy I can pass that off to Josh and Dan to keep things going.

Since I have no cute pet pictures - my dear sweet Ginger (yellow lab and husky mix) is no longer in this plane of existence (RIP you amazing good girl), I’ll have to post a photo of one of my botanical babies.

alt text

I’ve got this orchid hobby going now, and I’m finally having some success getting my older plants to rebloom.

And finally, because I want to go out on a high note, I’ll leave you with a joke I’ve been saving for a very special occasion. This is not the kind of a joke you just throw out at random. If this joke was a bottle of alcohol, it would be a 30 year old bottle of Scotch packaged in a hand-made wooden box.


A woman is sitting at her deceased husband’s funeral. A man leans over and quietly asks her if he may say a word.

”Of course,” says the woman. “Please do.”

The man stands up, clears his throat, and says, “Plethora.” He then sits back down.

”Thank you,” the woman says. “That means a lot.”



Last updated April 17, 2018


Jigger April 17, 2018

Enjoy your orchids, man. You've earned it.

Domino April 17, 2018

😂

Thank you so much xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I love your orchid x

littlefallsmets April 17, 2018

Thank you for being 10,000% times better than The Dairymaster. Vaya con dios, brother.

Deleted user April 17, 2018

Thank- you and keep writing !

Walking Crow April 17, 2018

-mic drop-

Lol <3 What a lovely joke.

Deleted user April 17, 2018

I'll miss you. You were always so nice to me.I

/if you do come back remember to play "Alive and Kicking"

Nash April 17, 2018

You helped save an entire community at a time when it really looked like there were no others who could appreciate what we had formed.

Bullwinkle6 Nash ⋅ April 17, 2018

Ding!

MadSeason April 17, 2018

Beautiful orchid and great joke.
Thank you for everything!

I need tea. April 17, 2018

Peace out! Xxx

Mystery April 17, 2018

XO

stargazing April 17, 2018

Thank you for creating this wonderful place and for caring enough to pass it on to someone else. I really appreciate it.

Deleted user April 17, 2018

<3

Dirty Numb Angelboy April 17, 2018

Thank you for everything. So who were you on Open Diary? I think I read something on someone's post that you came from there when they went to hell. Your place looks nice from what I could see in the flower picture.

Camdengirl April 17, 2018

groooooooooooooooan at the awful joke - I would expect nothing less!

Thank you for just generally being awesome and updating everything so diligently, I know it will have taken time away from your family and work. We appreciate it. Truly.

bobbi01 April 17, 2018

Superb joke. Thanks for everything.

Jeanine April 17, 2018

Thank you for this place!

J.E. April 17, 2018

Thank you

KissOfLife! April 17, 2018

Oh how pretty. Raise her (I assume the orchid is a her?) well :)

And, laterz!

TellTaleHeart April 17, 2018

That joke is amazing. ❤

Bomb Shell April 17, 2018

So long, and thanks for all the fish.

Really appreciate what you've done here, from setting it up, keeping it running and finding someone to take over. I have a lot of friends here, this place is a lifeline for keeping up to date, brain farts, and self-therapy. Look after yourself.

Cat Mommy April 17, 2018

Great site. Great song. Awful joke. :P

Bee Girl April 17, 2018

Thank you for making this place. Take care!

Deleted user April 17, 2018

So long, man. Thanks for all the fish. I really appreciate you picking up the pieces when OD went down. Take care.

Mr. Mofo April 17, 2018

Sorry sir, but you'll never be able to just fade into obscurity. We'll all be staring into your windows with big creepy grins on our faces.

Oiseau April 17, 2018

Well done, my good man. Gold star for you. Enjoy retirement and your orchiding!

Deleted user April 17, 2018

Obscurity is underrated 👌🏻
Hope to find you around here, and thank you💕

Deleted user April 17, 2018

Thanks for all you have done ❤ love the orchird! So cute

Deleted user April 17, 2018

Thanks for the love.

masquerade~ April 17, 2018

Thank you, again Simple Mind <3 I'm glad you'll be sticking around though :) :)

donut April 17, 2018

Thanks, dude. :)

beth April 17, 2018

God, that joke. You slay me.
The ad banner that displayed at the bottom of your entry (for me) blares "THE #1 REASON MEN PULL AWAY". Apropos, no? Pull away, friend, and enjoy it!

m.i.a. April 17, 2018

I see a plethora of folks have said thank you already so I’ll add one more! Thank you so much for giving us all a home to share our lives with each other, for giving up so much of yours. Looking forward to regular life updates from you from here on out.

Narrator April 17, 2018

Thank you so much for all your time and effort. Also, that is a pretty fabulous joke. :)

Silverstar46 April 17, 2018

Lol, thank you for this wonderful place you built and I'm so glad it's staying and so are you.
Oh, and that orchid is gorgeous!

hugadog April 17, 2018

Perfect! Thanks for keeping us going during the rough times, and for all your hard work.

sassafras April 17, 2018

What a great joke!

Thanks for all you've done, SM. You did good.

Firebabe April 17, 2018

Dear Simple Mind,
Everyone here will always owe you a small golden locket of special thanks for creating this place. For many of us it became a fiery crucible, a place where we yelled, and cried, and laughed, and swore so hard we set fire to our potted rhododendrons, and won (mostly imaginary) awards for the most creative swears (“scrotum coaster” anyone?)

But all silliness aside, I want to thank you from the bottom of my fuzzy purple socks, because without this place, I definitely would have done something crazy(ier) by now, possibly involving monkeys and flaming coconuts. So as your going-away parade float—complete with chocolate pudding waterfalls, and dozens of white peacocks—is slowly pulled away by the Budweiser Clydesdales and a baby elephant while Nathan Fillion sings haunting ballads of your epic feats of awesomeness on a steel guitar, remember us fondly, because there’s no way we’ll ever forget you.

*SALUTES*

Bullwinkle6 Firebabe ⋅ April 17, 2018

This actually made me cry. DAMN YOU, FIREBABE!

(And I could not say it better than this.)

Firebabe Bullwinkle6 ⋅ April 18, 2018

It's the part about Nathan Fillion and the steel guitar, isn't it? IT ALWAYS MAKES ME CRY TOO. *throws her arms around you and sobs*

simple mind Firebabe ⋅ May 02, 2018

Ah, Nathan Fillion singing haunting ballads. Bwahaha! Love.

thesunnyabyss April 17, 2018

thank you again, you are awesome, great song and beautiful orchids!!!

Krud April 17, 2018

Shine on, you crazy diamond. Keep on rockin' in a free world. Go do that voodoo that you do so well. So long, and thanks for all the fish. Don't you forget about me (don't, don't, don't, don't.) Life moves pretty fast, you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it. We'll always have Paris. And that's all I have to say about that.

Krud April 17, 2018

P.S. I literally didn't realize you ended with that video! =D (I had jumped down once I got to the orchids, no offense.)

Leanne 🌈 April 17, 2018

Mucha gracias senior 😊.

ConnieK April 17, 2018

Thank you for the creation of PB, thank you for being open to handing the reins over so that it remains. Go. Have some fun and do not even think about crashing servers!

Meeks April 17, 2018

How can anyone forget the person who lovingly created Prosebox. Thank You.

edna million April 17, 2018

Thank you for everything!

NorthernSeeker April 17, 2018

Thank you for everything...you made such a positive difference in my life through the friends I've met on prosebox. Enjoy your newly acquired personal time.

Pretty Fly Jedi April 17, 2018

This feels like when Joe replaced Steve on "Blue's Clues".

Sure, Joe is great and quality TV but dad damnit he is NOT STEVE 😭

NorthernSeeker Pretty Fly Jedi ⋅ April 17, 2018

Yes...like when Klinger took over for Radar O'Reilly on MASH.

WomanOfSteele April 17, 2018

Your orchid is a beaut. Do you name your plants? lol I have two orchids. One is Bella and one is Betty. :)

Thank you for creating this space for us! I was on Open Diary for years and never felt as much of a sense of community as I have felt here. I'm forever grateful for the work you put in to creating this site and keeping it afloat for us all.

Hope to see you around!

Lyn April 17, 2018

May the good karma you earned here pay off in spades.

I agree with your joke description and your orchid is stunning!

🥂 Cheers.

Anaiss April 17, 2018

Thank you! Now enjoy kicking back to read and write along with the rest of us commoners.

a mote, floating April 17, 2018

Thank you for taking care of all of us!
Love the orchid and the joke.
Enjoy your "regular joe" days!

Chic Chat April 17, 2018

Thank you for everything!

GypsyWynd April 17, 2018

Thank you for making me snort coffee up my nose and choke (great joke!)
Mostly, and most sincerely, thank you for creating this place when so many of us needed it, for keeping it going, and for finding a better solution than closing it down. You did something really remarkable here and I am very grateful. I wish you all the best. You earned it.

Marg April 17, 2018

Many thanks for all the hard work you put into this wonderful site - and for passing it on so graciously! We look forward to getting to know you as a Regular Joe now😊

Anit April 17, 2018

If I'd had a mouthful of liquid, I'd have spat it all over my computer at that joke. Ha!
A job well done, sir. We thank you! Enjoy your "retirement"!

Deleted user April 17, 2018

Haha, good one!
Thank you so much for all your work. This place will live on and on thanks to you!

Also, plants are the new pets. #houseplantclub

Naiad April 17, 2018

I hope you stick around here, friend. :)

Bullwinkle6 April 17, 2018

You provided a new safe haven for so many of us who were devastated when OD shut down. I will be eternally grateful to you, man. Enjoy obscurity. you earned it!

nipsting April 17, 2018

what a fucking beauty! props for being able to grow one. i've tried to grow carnations (carnations for eff sake!) and nada, so ya know.

now that you're a "civilian", welcome to the community. i hope we're everything you want.

Complicated Disaster April 17, 2018

*groan*

Zappel April 17, 2018

Thank you for all your work here! We appreciate it so much. And yes, thanks also for the excellent joke, which I will tell so often that everyone will be sick of it except for me.

TruNorth April 17, 2018

I won't forget you - thank you for this site and rescuing so many of us "refugees". We are grateful for all you've done.

crystal butterfly April 17, 2018

Thank you so much for creating this site and for finding someone who was willing to keep it going.

Ragdolls April 17, 2018

THANK YOU!!!

Bird of Paradise April 18, 2018

Thanks. Greatly appreciate the communication you had with us. It makes or breaks a site. Best Wishes.

sparkli April 18, 2018

thank yooooouuuuuu!

woman in the moon April 18, 2018

Yes. A plethora of gratitude and wishes for all good things for you and yours.
Great orchid.

love.me.for.me April 18, 2018

Thank you for creating PB.. and thank you for realizing that you had to step down but at the same time not being so prideful that you had to take the site with you. I'm sure the new people will take good care of your creation!

Serin April 18, 2018

Thank you. For taking this up, and for keeping it alive. And for the friends and friendship and digital therapy and sense of community and feeling of home and comfort.

Azrael April 18, 2018

Thank you for all the years of hard work giving me somewhere to come and vent or share great news and secrets and basically keeping me sane sometimes!

four leaf clover April 18, 2018

Thank you for creating this place and for keeping it alive!

Kristi1971 April 18, 2018

That really is a beautiful orchid. And Thank You for creating this box to hold prose. It really means a lot to me that you did.

middle age pearl April 18, 2018

Thank you for PB and for allowing it to be handed over to others. Sometimes that is hard to do when you have you blood sweat and tears in a project. However you are talented and gifted so hope to see updates as "one of us". ;)

Kate April 18, 2018

Ha! Good one. So is "Regular Joe" going to be your new PB name?

gruesome.barbie April 19, 2018

I love orchids so much! Yours is beautiful. I wish I had a green thumb. Sadly I don't do well with plants.

SweetMelissa April 19, 2018

Thank you for building this gem. You’re amazing! I’m glad you’ll still be around.

haredawg drools April 19, 2018

Just wanted to express gratitude.

Finn April 19, 2018

Your orchid looks so friendly.

Thank you for this place.

That joke is GOLD.

Asenath Waite April 19, 2018

Well this sucks. I dunno you, and you dunno me; but you gave me a place to vent my weird frustrations; and facilitated the creation of a few good friendships, (and believe me, I do not make friends easily), and for that I am genuinely grateful.

Without you, I'd have been venting on Facebook, and alienating even MORE people I'd rather keep in my life if at all possible.

I know it's impolite; but I mean it sincerely: I hope you at least made a few bucks off of this transfer of ownership. Gods know you earned it. If so, buy yourself another good puppy. A life without a furry companion is a life incomplete.

And know, above all things, that you are appreciated.

Queue 'Auld Lang Syne'.

MageB April 19, 2018

Plethora to you, and we will see you around.

I'm an Okking Fool April 19, 2018

Thank you so much for all you have done for us over the years. This site has truly become home for many of us :)

That joke is fantastic!

cricket_factor April 20, 2018

THANK YOU for developing this site for US - thanks for all your work done here so that we would have a place to write and be with many of the people we've formed friendships with through the internet - your efforts and interest and focus to build this site will never be forgotten. THANK YOU.

Comfortably Numb April 20, 2018

Thank you for creating this wonderful site.

Still laughing at plethora

Stephably April 20, 2018

Thank you for creating this space for us! That is such a beautiful orchid. We'll see you around. Your home was hilarious. I'm going to have to share that one Lol. Thanks again!

nightborn April 20, 2018

THANK you for letting us keep our home. Sorry so many of us (me included) reacted badly to the initial announcement... Bruce-induced trauma. Whatever that other place is, it’s not OD. OD is gone forever.

Nebiyah April 21, 2018

Thanks for all you've done! Hope you enjoy your foray into regular joe-dom. And nice job with the orchid! I once had an orchid, that I nearly killed and so it gave me 2 baby orchids, then I had 3 orchids, then I had 1 blooming orchid, and now I have no orchids. Thus was my orchid phase. Ah, the rhythms of life.

Ginger Snap April 22, 2018

Thank YOU!! It does mean a lot! xo

Justlovely April 23, 2018

Enjoy being a reader/writer without the star status! Thank you again for this site.

precious butterflies April 23, 2018

Thank you for everything!

Hillbilly Princess April 25, 2018

Thank you for starting this site. I hope you have a great retirement from it.

hoops April 29, 2018

Well, you just can't go wrong with a joke like that for an exit. I'm totally stealing it. Oh, and thank you. Yanno. Just--thank you.

BlueEyes418 April 29, 2018

You're not the most well equipped person to run an online diary site.

But, you did it, anyway.

I truly don't understand why someone of your own description would ever do the online diary site thing. It's just nog really "you".

But I'm very thankful and grateful for all that you've done. Thank you.

simple mind BlueEyes418 ⋅ May 02, 2018

I love building things. So building a diary site is totally my thing. Maintaining it and moderating the community, not as much. Though I did enjoy it before getting way too busy with other things and burning out.

MemoryFails May 21, 2018

MemoryFails May 21, 2018

Thank you sooo much hun! I will never look back, love this wonder that you have built. I mourned OD and moved on... to a place you built that I hold dear in my heart now!!! <3 <3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.