Bonus Indulgence - Pictures in The Long and Winding Road

  • April 14, 2018, 10:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I mentioned that I used a small portion of my bonus to indulge in a new dining room rug, table runner, and candle centerpiece. I loved the old dining room rug – it was bright and vibrant, adding cheerful color and a happy ambiance to the room. Using such vivid color was new for me, having almost always favored earth tones. It was part of adding more color to every area of my condo. But, over the last 4 years, it’s started to feel a little old. I’m happy I did it, and I’m not getting rid of ALL color, but I miss the earth tones that I am naturally drawn to.

The dining room rug had to be replaced one way or another. Gracie had chewed it up, pulled lots of threads loose to the point where there were bare spots, and it is the kind of rug that somehow eats itself from the edges, so that along the edges where were parts where the threads were completely gone and all you saw was the brown underlayment. I think I read that it’s little mites that are attracted to that particular type rug and they eat away at it. And the rug just looked dirty.

So while looking for some pictures to be part of the before and after, I thought I’d start at the very beginning. So here is what the dining room floor looked like when I bought the place, before I got a rug for the dining room. Long time readers will remember the dining room, kitchen and hallway had a horrible old white tile floor. It doesn’t look nearly as bad in pictures as it did in person – it was about 30 years old, yellowed, with such filthy grout that it wouldn’t come clean. There were chips and cracks in it. It was awful. And it was cold too.

alt text

And then I added the rug:

alt text

Then I had the big leak in the kitchen and mercifully, it resulted in being able to replace the tile floor almost for free – insurance paid to replace all the tile, and I paid to have the hardwood floor continue into the hallway that led to the front door, which meant having to have the old parquet floor lifted up. How I LOVED (and still love) the new flooring.

alt text

And so now, it’s out with the bright vibrant worn out rug, and in with a taupe colored rug with a cream colored contemporary design on it. It’s a little bigger than the old one was, so it just about goes wall to wall in the dining room. I really could not be happier with it.

alt text

It’s impossible to take a picture around here without at least one, if not both, dogs managing to get in it:

alt text

For now, I’m having to leave heavy items along the edge of the rug until it lays flat and stops wanting to curl back up.

alt text

So while I was at it, I decided to get a new table runner, and centerpiece candle set. Lately I’ve been looking around the kitchen and dining room, trying to figure out why it had started to feel cluttered and just not as nice as it used to feel. I realized it was because I had started to let things accumulate on the dining room table, with my purse and laptop bag hanging off one of the chairs. Well, I took care of that. I am super happy with the cleaned up look:

alt text

alt text

alt text

So that’s my latest home update project. There isn’t much more for me to do, now that the bathroom is finally done. Once the weather warms up (assuming it ever does) I will plant flowers out on the balcony and have the annual balcony reno, when it becomes like an added room for me so I’m sure pictures will be coming then. Until then, this is it. I have to get busy cleaning up around here, so I’ll write a “real” entry later in the weekend. Have a good one, everyone!


GypsyWynd April 14, 2018

Very nice! Josie and Gracie are the perfect models for the new rug. (better than the Instant Pot!)

plushcreep April 14, 2018

I just love what you've done with the place!

Anaiss plushcreep ⋅ April 14, 2018

Thank you! I can't believe you've never been here, in all this time! But you were at my Chelsea apartment, weren't you? It seems to me you helped put my Christmas tree up when I was recovering from shoulder surgery.

plushcreep Anaiss ⋅ April 14, 2018

Actually, we helped you move a dresser, I think? But yes - that was a lovely apartment. We just don't get up there much anymore, especially now that everyone in Tara's family has moved to Tacoma.

Just Annie April 14, 2018

Thank you for the photos! I always love seeing what you do. Katie has a rug very similar to your new dining room one, just in gray. Very classy, I think!

Anaiss Just Annie ⋅ April 14, 2018

Thanks! I think gray is THE color these days. I looked at so many rugs similar to this one that were gray.

Beret April 14, 2018

I really liked the colors in the old rug but the new one works perfectly as well. Good choice!

mcbee April 14, 2018

I also liked the colors in the old rug, but like you I am constantly wanting to change things up. The new rug is light, bright and ...you are right..more modern looking! I love HGTV and see gray being used in everything now...so you are very current.

woman in the moon April 14, 2018

I always like seeing what you've done with your house.

Wranglingal April 14, 2018

WOW that looks so nice and OH I love those jar candles. I used to have something like those at one time. LOVE the carpet!!

Anaiss Wranglingal ⋅ April 14, 2018

Thank you!

cricket_factor April 14, 2018

You always have great taste! Love the lights strung along the curtain rod! You can do no wrong when it comes decorating. You've got it going on.

Marg April 15, 2018

I love how you do before and after pictures - makes a difference. I did like the old rug I have to say but I know what it's like when things get worn and old so I'm glad you love the new one along with the runner and candles - good job!

Deleted user April 15, 2018

It all looks lovely !

Slowpoke May 02, 2018

You always seem to have a first class decorating streak. I think you should have majored in decorating. Take Care of yourself.

mysterymelody September 06, 2018

I wish the images worked. I wanted to see.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.