It's been Nearly a Year! How Did that happen? in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • April 9, 2018, 3:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t believe I have been gone for nearly a year. Time has just passed me by. So much has happened.

I should be grading exams and reading resume’s, but I just can’t look at another poorly written page today. In January my only remaining colleague in the department told me she was going to retire at the end of this semester. She’s 55 and been at the college for 19 years. She wants to do something different. So, I am all alone in doing the work that needs to get done and to hire another faculty member. One of my former colleagues wants to return, but the college said I had to do a national search before just hiring him. Well, 21 resume’s later my team of 2 other professors from other disciplines, and myself have narrowed it down to 5, with my pick still in the mix. Tomorrow we start the interviewing via phone and narrow it down to 3. From there they will come to campus, meet students, teach a class, speak with HR, the Associate Dean, Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Vice President of Academic Affairs - and a final decision will be made. Since I am the one who has to work with this person, I really hope my input is taken seriously. I guess we will see.

My Granddaughter is delightful. She will be 3 in June and is already starting to read. She loves going to my son’s performances when she can and dances like crazy. They send me videos regularly and we face time at least twice a week. She always wants to sing songs with me and tells me all about her “Adventures”, like how she threw all Mommie’s laundry on the floor and got into trouble. Right now her favorite thing to do is go to the aquarium and visit her friend Hank. He’s an octopus with 9 brains who squeezes himself through holes and climbs with using his sucking legs. Next to Hank is the Bulldozer. She makes up songs about her best friend Bulldozer - and as you can guess, any large piece of machinery is a bulldozer. Driving down the road when we last visited she pointed out every last one along the way, oh, and the Grand Ole Flags which set her into song… “You’re a Grand Old Flag, You’re a high flying flag and forever your …” She knows the song much better than I.

My son and Daughter in Law are both doing exceptionally well right now. Both of their careers are taking off and they will be doing a European Tour in the fall, taking the little one with them. Amazing to watch everything come together for them.

My daughter is now living in Taos, NM and has finally found her people (Tribe). She went to Costa Rica last summer and got her Yoga certifications and now lives with people who own a yoga studio that she helps out in. She is also doing aerial (silks) yoga and acrobats, part of a writers group and artists community and working in a small shop in the heart of the plaza. She is happy, healthy (vegan) and finding herself as she continues to heal. This is a major thing since she dropped into a VERY DARK place for nearly 8 months. I was very worried but she came out of it stronger. Yesterday she sent me photos of her hike in the mountains and the Big horned sheep who came up to her to greet her. If there wasn’t a photo I am not sure anyone would have believed it. The young women she was hiking with were blown away, saying they had never seen that happen before. I have to laugh because she has always had animals drawn to her. Deer in the yard would approach her since she was a child, as did squirrels and lots of birds. She was told it was welcoming from the mountain. :-)

I am fine. Very busy and seeking a time for peace and quite. i hope to catch up with all of you soon. I miss you all and think about how you are often. I am sorry for disappearing for so long.

Must go now for my Yoga class. I look forward to the peace this brings me. It’s Old Folks yoga, none of the fancy stuff and no one stands on their heads…
Until later.


ermentrude April 09, 2018

Yoga, whether aerial or old folks, is an incredible thing to do.

As for hank, a great friend choice! When she was 4, Lila (my youngest) insisted that we wrote to the aquarium after a visit in which the octopus wasn't on display because of sickness. She worried so much and asked daily to go back and visit. 😊

I hope the perfect colleague is amongst your five - good luck!

Food Master ermentrude ⋅ April 12, 2018

Thank you. How are your girls doing? Are you still quilting? I really need to catch up on your posts. You always brighten my day. I have missed you...

whowhatwhere April 10, 2018

Nice to see you back! I'm glad everyone is going great!

Food Master whowhatwhere ⋅ April 12, 2018

Thank you. I am going to catch up on your posts as well. I have missed you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.