My peeves have been pet in Ponderings of the Universe

  • April 5, 2018, 10:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

All week has been a series of Mondays. Even today, which was a day off.

I had to go into work to sign something having to do with a travel-related case that has been a pain in my butt (figuratively) since January. Will it ever end????

My tailbone is still a pain in my butt (literally). It is better than on Monday but it still is all full of ouch. I’m still suspicious it’s bruised rather than broken because I think it would be a pain in the butt (literally) more than is if it were broken.

Had to go get my dumb crown reattached. If it doesn’t stay on longer than a few months this time, my dentist things we’ll have to make a new crown and attach it in a different way. It’s an older crown and I’m a clencher and a grinder, so it makes sense. But ugh. $$$$$$. Yay for being the adultiest and having an HSA, right?

Then, I had one of the things that makes me most frustrated happen, a (figurative) pain in my ass. Got a facebook message from an old high school friend who I have had barely any contact with since we were in high school. Asking about a pet kitty that isn’t doing well right now. Don’t get me wrong, I do not mind answering medical questions about friends’ and family members’ pets. There’s usually not a lot I can do from afar and without having a client-patient relationship with them and, typically at the end of the conversation, I recommend they bring their pet into their vet. BUT it doesn’t bother me because we have an actual relationship as friends/family. They talk to me about things other than my profession. I wouldn’t mind if any of you guys had questions about your pets since we talk about other stuff. It bothers me when someone I haven’t had any substantial contact with for years asks for veterinary advice with barely a “Hello, how you doing? What’s up in your life?” It also bothers me when they assume I can do alllll sorts of things for free/a greatly reduced cost. I cannot. I am not a practice owner. I am an employee. Does your boss allow you to give away goods and services away for free? Mine does not. Do I have a little wiggle room? Sure, I can maybe do a free ear cleaning or nail trim but much beyond that, my hands are tied. This not about the money on my end-I get paid the same amount no matter what clients choose to do as I’m salaried. It’s about being an employee who has rules that need to be followed in order to remain employed. It is also about doing things legally so I do not get my license taken away for malpractice. I need to protect the quarter million dollar investment that my education was.

Conversations like that make me feel used.

Of course, I’m still nice. I don’t think people come to me with questions like that with ill intentions. I made my recommendation to go to the vet and gave information on low cost options. Legally, it’s all I can do.

Still smarts, though.

That, and my (literal) pain in the ass.


Jigger April 06, 2018

PREACH. People STILL ask me for vet advice. I was an unlicensed assistant over a decade ago. Go to the vet!

I'm an Okking Fool Jigger ⋅ April 28, 2018

Seriously!

TellTaleHeart April 06, 2018

That's frustrating, when people just use you for your expertise. I figured you were going to say this old friend contacted you about some kind of MLM scheme, because that's how things seem to go, lol.

I hope you have a nice, relaxing weekend to make up for this Mondayful week!

I'm an Okking Fool TellTaleHeart ⋅ April 28, 2018

Haha I have people contacting me about that but it doesn't bother me as much since it's less personal.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.