Chess in General

  • April 4, 2018, 4:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Chess

Weather here is just perpetually dreary. Earlier today I heard what sounded like a plow pushing a dumpster down the road.

When I went outside I realized it was a thunderstorm. Those are a bit rare in Maine. Especially this time of year.

I tried to get on the flight schedule since tomorrow looks likes the only decent day in the next 10.

And my instructor is locked up. So I just keep watching the sky.

There is a guy on Facebook who posted a video of his 5 year old daughter flying an aerobatic aircraft. He says “Roll right” and she does. He says “roll left” and she does.

He says “snap roll right and come out on a heading of XYZ. And she does.

There are some kids that just aren’t from this planet. People of the sky.

Being bored and all. I have been playing an online chess game.

Up to level 3 I could fight the computer to a draw, and even technically beat it (Down to nothing but my King, but ‘Puter didn’t have a move.”

So today I cranked it up to level 5. Freaking thing was getting to checkmate in 10 or so moves.

I’d get so freaking pissed. Apparently, when it comes to chess I am an offensive player. My defense sucks. I don’t even see what the machine is doing. Getting better though.

Kinda cracks me up, when I don’t know what to do next I just randomly move a piece. Then I imagine the long pause the computer is taking with it saying “why the fuck did he do that?”

Because I’m American. One of our strongest points is our randomness. You never know what we are going to do next.


Last updated April 04, 2018


TruNorth April 04, 2018

Love that randomness trait! It certainly keeps one guessing.

Duke TruNorth ⋅ April 04, 2018

Long seminar regarding the OODA loop process. They told us to not just follow the established protocol. The Germans fell into that trap during WWII. If you are in a one circle fight and suddenly take it two circle, they don't know what you are doing.

Kristi1971 April 08, 2018

You know it!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.