104 in Slowing Down

  • March 29, 2018, 7 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Its time for me to bring you up to date on my life.

My Mom on Feb. 11. 2018 turned 104 years old. All my children were in town to celebrate her birthday. However, Mom had fallen out of her wheelchair and had seriously hurt herself. She was so doped up she didn’t know who we were or why we were in her room. I kissed her on her forehead and told her I loved her. I didn’t know if she heard me or even knew who I was. I had a feeling I was seeing my Mom for the last time, however, she managed to stay alive until Feb 24th. At 4am my sister received a phone call telling her Mom had passed away in her sleep. At 8am. Betty called me and let me know.

Mike and I were instructed to go get Moms personal items from the home she had been living at. The Nurses had bagged everything they could find. Notice to my children–don’t you dare place me in this type of home. This type of home has 50 people roaming the halls, in and out of all the rooms. taking what ever they wanted too. Mom had many nice blouses all of which disappeared. Mike and I brought all the clothing and other personal items to my house and then I had to find clothing for her burial. About that time Betty came into town and set the burial date on March 12th.

It was a very nice Memorial Service. The Minister included all those in the audience in the Services. After which relatives went out for lunch.

On Wednesday everyone went home. I got my peace and quiet back. Love my kids but glad when they all get back home safely.

Mom’s Memorial Service taught me to check out my Memorial Plan. Mom use to say, “When I die call Mt Vernon and they will take care of everything”. That’s not true folks. Who picks up the flowers, who gets the death certificate, who does the calling and who do we call????????.So if you have a plan all paid for check it out and keep it up to date.

Take Care Folks.

I doubt if I will be back unless my daughter can find another free one. I just may try to work a deal where I can join with someone who writes more than me and I can show up once every 6 months or so.
I’ve enjoyed reading all you nice folks. BYE.


Mystery March 29, 2018

104, wow! My mom made it to 80.

crystal butterfly April 01, 2018

I'm sorry for the loss of your mother. And you don't have to leave because PB will not be closing down.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.