A Week With Grandma and a snow bound day with me in Grandma and me

  • Feb. 4, 2014, 10:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo doug2004_zps17f5f7d7.jpg Sat 2-1-1992

Frost, just barely did freeze. Sharon and Butch did our chores, but we went to the pasture to cut hedge. Doug come about 3. We worked until about 530. Ate supper and just stayed home. Got up to about 60.

Sun 2-2-1992 Another real warm morning. Butch and Shard did the feeding. Teri and Charles F got to their house yesterday evening. Moving back. Doug and us hit the hedge again even though it is SUnday. Steve, Lisa and boys was down for awhile later in the evening. We played a little ball. P LOng brought a Paririe Chapel cookbook by for me. High around 62.

Mon 2-3-1992

About 40 to begin a new week. Doug and us got all the hedge at least cut down. Got a little in the ditch. He just had to get back to St JOe. A nice ward day. High of 60

Tue 2-4-1992

A chilly wind but not freezing cold. We are not into doing much today. Chuck came down and ate dinner with us. Llye Neff stopped while Chuck was here. We went in to grocery store later in afternoon. Butch and Sharon come down to get spare wheel on 4 by, back tire wants to go down.

Weds 2-5-1992

A little cooler 22, early hazy fog but cleared away before noon. We went to the laundromat first thing. Got home about 9. Did our feeding after we come back. Not much going on rest of the day.

Thur 2-6-1992

A chilly wind from Northeast. Cloudy we piled some hedge brush, but was chilly o didn't do it long. Dough come up about noon went back to brush after we ate dinner and did the dishes. Teri and Charles brough Josh down for a little while. He is a cutie.

Fri 2-7-1992

24 and a nice frost. Doug and us went to town this morning, took my saw and Hogan got it going good again. Piled brush in the pasture again, got done except some next to Glen’s fence in south side.

 photo doug2008_zps8421fe80.jpg

Me 2-4-2014

Due to the bad weather I got to work from home today and will again tomorrow. The Plan was for me to get up early and do an hour of cardio at the gym before the snow got here, but I just couldnt make myself get out of bed. I hope I can make it to the gym tomorrow night as I’m going a little stir crazy. Also while I just went to the grocery store I don't have very much protien in the house. Just cottage cheese, muscle milk and protein bars. Do you think its a good thing or a bad thing that I just spent the last hour and a half trying to burn the calories I normally burn at the gym. On one hand I think its excessive but when I think back to the first winter when I was trying to get to a healthy weight I would let being snowed in defeat me and end up not doing any exercise and baking cookies. Maybe somewhere in between the two extremes is what I need.

I was glad to read that Doug came and helped gma and gpa in their never ending battle with the brush. Especially after last week when I read how tired she was. I know it was 20 years ago but its nice to see Doug being a good guy. Both Monty and Doug would do anything for Grandma. Grandma and Grandpa had them alot of the time after their dad died. Doug was only 4 when his dad died and doesn't really remember him at all. Whereas Monty was eight and adored his Dad and wanted to be just like him. The sad thing is it matters so much to Monty to be like his Dad and Doug is more like him in looks and mannerisms than Monty every could be and it doesn't matter to Doug at all.

Good Things I did for me

Leslie Sancome DVD

Just Dance on the Wii

Stayed in calorie range

Gratitudes

Working from home

 photo snoopclooseup_zps50d28130.jpg


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 05, 2014

not gonna go to the gym when it's snowing. won't drive if the weather is bad. i'm lazy like that. i'll go in good weather. take care,

edna million February 05, 2014

I am very impressed that you stayed active even though you were snowed in-- I'd say better to be a little excessive in that way than do like I tend to do and lie around eating and napping because it's too cold to go outside. Excuses!! And I find once I'm in the HABIT of doing things at home, it's a whole lot easier to stay active all the time. When I start letting myself slide, it's trouble. Speaking from experience this winter, sadly.

I love reading your grandma's diary.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.