Fortune in General

  • March 27, 2018, 7:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Fortune

So apparently we are at endgame here at PB. I don’t have the will to start over again at a different site, and I will be damned if I ever go back to OD. That motherfucker Bruce owes me 200 bucks. I bought two lifetime memberships and he yanked the rug out from under us.

Maybe my journaling days are done. I’ll go back to scribbling notes in a notebook. I am about 2.7 seconds away from pulling the plug on Facebook as well. It adds nothing to my life.

I woke up this morning wondering why I always feel so damned good after flying. My conclusion is, when I am flying that is all I am doing. 100% of my attention is on accomplishing the tasks that are right in front of me. I don’t think about ex wives or girlfriends or my budget or how much gas I have in the car.

Just fly.

I went up Friday. It was bumpy as hell, but still I got in 4 landings. Plus turns around a point, boxes around a point. Still getting the basics refresher.

In a weird 4 year old way the landings are my favorite. Just me, the aircraft and the runway doing our best to be friends.

I’m up again Thursday. If all goes well, I’ll be done with the PPL by June. Then on the Commercial/Instrument and CFI. Luckily the GI bill will cover most of that.

I don’t worry about a lot of things. I guess there is a lot to be said for being single, unencumbered and semi-retired.

Well shipmates. This might be my last entry. Never can tell, but it seems appropriate to say goodbye just in case I get busy and forget to check in.

Remember: duty and loyalty - honesty and sincerity - compassion - honor - courage - respect - and integrity.

Everything else comes easy.


Kristi1971 March 27, 2018

sigh - I want my pilots license. I want to learn to fly, too.

As for this site, it appears there are several folks who have offered to help/take over running the site. It may not go anywhere. I will miss you if it goes. I've read you for many years now - since OD.

Duke Kristi1971 ⋅ March 27, 2018

A PPL will run you between 7-10K. Not for the faint of heart. I can't believe how expensive flying has gotten. Things you don't think about when you are in the Navy.

TruNorth March 27, 2018

Good bye - I hope you find the happiness you've been searching for. I will be at OD.

MaggieTheCat March 27, 2018

Lifetime memberships are still lifetime memberships on OD.

Duke MaggieTheCat ⋅ March 27, 2018

I did not know that. I just deleted the email, the way OD went out left a bad taste in my mouth.

Pintador March 28, 2018

It’s been a pleasure...

Pintador March 28, 2018

It’s been a pleasure...

Deleted user March 28, 2018

Don’t give up yet. There may be some chance that PB might be saved.

Ionuin April 05, 2018

I could never quite get the hang of this place. I got an email from the DM and reclaimed over at OD. It's bringing back lots of weird feelings. I do hope you change your mind and keep writing, even if not at OD.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.