No rest for the wicked in Curmudgeonly Progressive

  • July 14, 2013, 7:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am sickened, but not shocked by the George Zimmerman verdict. It almost seemed as if the prosecution threw the case. As I listened to closing arguments, I wondered just whose side the prosecution was on. A finding of not guilty is not, however, a finding of innocence and Zimmerman will be haunted by what happened the rest of his miserable fat fuck of a life. There really is no rest for the wicked. You do shitty things, life will punish you.

I'm doing a news blackout today and maybe even longer. Watching the media hype over this case and the way they try to inflame the public for ratings is sickening. There is absolutely nothing I can do about the verdict. What's done is done. But I did sign the NAACP petition for the Department of Justice to bring a civil rights action:

http://www.naacp.org/sign-the-DOJ-petition

That website is taking a long time to load because of the traffic to it. Even if nothing comes of it, the fact that so many people sign has to bring some sort of comfort to the Martin family.


Lobbastah July 14, 2013

I think there will likely be a civil suit next... like when OJ was found not guilty in the criminal trial. But I'm on news blackout all the time -- I have no TV, and I don't visit news websites.

SweetMelissa July 14, 2013

I didn't follow this case much because it made me sad that boy died. I don't know the details but it seemed avoidable. Someone didn't have to die. I was really angry after the Casey Anthony trial verdict, too. Ugh. It's horrible what people get away with.

Rick July 15, 2013

It sickens me too, and like you, I am staying away from any and all news coverage. Enough is enough. Be well and happy, dear friend. :)

MJ's Page August 08, 2013

Interesting. I told hubby I thought the prosecution was hired by the defense.

Scriptor enim vitae August 08, 2013

Thanks for the note. I like this post and agree 100%. I look forward to reading more of your entries!

Deleted user February 01, 2014

Now that's a good idea! I too have a couple of readers who don't like my politics. Heh, and a couple of blockers, there used to be I think. Who knows? It's all gone in my pathetic memory. Anyway, glad to see you at PB, and hope to hear more of your interesting, and entirely right! ;-) views.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.