Quick Update in The Mundane Ramblings of an Insane Mind

  • March 20, 2018, 11:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I looked at my last entry… last July! Yeah, I don’t write as nearly often as I should.

So, at that time, I was on a Zero Carb “diet”… and I went on to last 23 days. Then I ate a fresh Jersey peach. And my sugar addiction, which was in remission, came roaring back. And I crashed. Big time.

Could not ever get back to it. Until a few weeks ago. Today is day 26. I eat meat, drink water. I like coffee now more than I ever did, but I drink it with cream and… salt. LOL I know it sounds weird, but it’s great. I also eat cheese, seafood.. basically, anything from the animal kingdom. No plants. No vegetables. No fruits. No grains. No bread or pasta. No sugar. In fact, no sweeteners of any kind. Just a few spices here and there…

My wife is fighting me on it. I still don’t think she totally gets it. I just tell most people I’m “low carb”.. because everyone understands what that is.

I’ve only lost about 5 lbs. in that time.. and I know why.. I’m not eating enough. But aside from that.. I feel AMAZING. Tons of energy. Most importantly, MENTAL energy.

OK, so… Hi, my name is Art, and I’m a hoarder. Except now, I’m actually getting rid of stuff. There’s an organization, www.gogreendrop.com - they come to my house every Friday and I give them stuff. I’m trying to do 10 bags and/or boxes a week. I’ve also been listing stuff on eBay. Right now I have 55 items. That’s a record for me. It’s because my motivation is higher and I have more focus to actually work, and follow through. And then, what doesn’t sell on eBay, gets donated.

Another great aspect about this diet (it’s actually more of a lifestyle.. there are people who’ve been eating this way for over 10 years, so it’s definitely sustainable and doable) is I don’t obsess over food anymore. Sure, I still enjoy eating, I’m just not thinking about it constantly, and stuffing my face with carbs and sugar, and then feeling horrible.

I think this summer will be interesting. I used to LOVE ice cream. But I really don’t miss it right now… or anything else sweet like cake, cookies, brownies, etc.

I will really try to update again before the year is up.. haha. SO much more to talk about.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.