Doddy once more ... in The odd entries from life …….

Revised: 03/13/2018 9:06 a.m.

  • March 12, 2018, 10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We went to see Ken Dodd ten years ago, I’m not a real fan of his, at then he was 80 and rather out of date, I remember him on radeo and seeing him on television. A friend of mine show him going through the chilrens wards, he was late for his show but he kept time to see evey child, and that was every town and city.
He diad in the house he was bourn in, I see photographs of Doddy coming out of hospial and still Doddy to the people wating to see him; I’m not sure if I should ‘Jolly’ but that was Ken Dodd or Doddy.
Once in this home he married his parter Anne Jones of 40 years, now Mrs Dodd, two days he had a passed; I liked the man more than comic - but you had to laugh - I wonder if ‘The ticking Sticks’ go with Doddy.

11:04 GMT 13:03:2018


Last updated March 13, 2018


Deleted user March 13, 2018

Awww, he sounds like he was a nice man.

NorthernSeeker March 14, 2018

It is a compliment that you liked Doddy as a man more than as a comedian.

jamez NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 15, 2018

No, Ken Dodd was a good man, when her traveling with his show he always visied childen in hospitals, Gill and I went to him in Stockport be for we moved to Cornwall, it was a good night but not again, we went at 7.30 and went home a 1.30. We wanted to see him as he hab been on the radio and tilivision, it was nice to see Doddy in the flesh; he was then 80 and still veary active. A lot of his joks were part of his shows in the 60s, What I liked most of Doddy the man who put him self out to bring joy to ill children, a friend of mine meet him in a hospital going to ward after ward when he shoild be on stage, the people wating got there money wrorth as I said. It is said one one stage owner through the kiys on to the stage 'you lock up' Ken Dodd was the last of a sort, it was nice to have seen him and the man who cared - Doddy and Ken Dodd.

Marg March 17, 2018

Another great gone - I hadn't realised he'd got married!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.