The Call Isn’t Out There, It’s Inside Me... in Chapter 9 : Oil Above Water

  • March 6, 2018, 1:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


We all have labels, whether we like it or not. Some of my labels I begrudge having as they dilute and steal from my identity, others I quite like because they add to, compliment and highlight my identity. I like when people describe me as a feminist and an activist. On the other hand I have NO tolerance for being called “Princess”. Yes, I recognize that I am Princess Pitbull BUT it was a name that was given in jest not as a term of endearment. It was a name given because I’m the least Princessy person you’ll ever meet and far more likely to rip Charming’s face off than I am to ride off into the sunset with him. That aside, the fact that I find Princess culture abhorrent and oppressive is no secret, and so there should be no shock upon discovering that I think Frozen and it’s ilk are a crock of shit, with one exception; Moana.
I need to talk about Moana for a bit. Let’s start with the fact that she’s NOT A FUCKING PRINCESS. She’s not out to become a Princess, she’s not looking for a Prince, in fact there’s not even a whisper about her finding a man from her folks (who both remain alive and together through the whole film) she knows what she’s got to do, and what she’s got to do is restore balance and harmony to her island because the crops are failing. Hands up every woman that has to restore balance and harmony within her own island? ~raises hand~. I like Moana, I like that she’s feisty, I like that she runs in to the problem and not away from it. I like her personality and I like that she’s not drawn with the same face and figure as the Princesses. Finally Disney have produced a positive role model for girls!! I like Moana so much that Inhappily introduced her to Bub and Pidge, who both love the film.
The more I watch the film, the more I’m starting to realise why I like it so much, and the lessons that I could, nay SHOULD be learning from it, because they’re the lessons I want my children to learn as they grow.

• It’s ok to want more, ambition and drive are not dirty words, it’s ok to be ambitious. Its actually good to know what you want in life and ferociously work towards acheiving your goals.
• You can find happiness where you are, you just have to get out and look for it. Happiness is not simply in the air and not everyone is naturally happy. For some us, happiness is a destination and we have to travel down some spectacularly shit roads before we get there.
• There really is no telling how far I’ll go. I have ambition, drive and no way out of this life, so I can either keep fighting it OR I can accept it, discover where my happiness is, what ny goals are, and work my arse off to acheive as much as I can whilst I’m stuck on this paltry little planet.
• I can lead my own tribe whilst still looking after myself. In fact, I NEED to look after myself in order to lead my tribe. Self care is vital because if life has taught me anything it’s that ain’t no other fucker going to look after me, as I discovered at the weekend when I lay in my bed for three whole days and no-one came near or by me.
• Sometimes you have to work with a complete dick to achieve your goals. There’s a Maui in all our lives and you don’t have to become pals with them either, you just need to be able to work with them as required.
• Sometimes you create your own battles, take the time to fight them and with the right support you’ll win even when it seems unwinnable.
• We all have our weaknesses but it’s important to recognise our strengths too, after all there are plenty of critics in the world, sometimes you need to be your own cheerleader.
• You create your identity, you choose how you identify. No-one else, and that includes your gender identity. This is not up for discussion in my world, if you disagree don’t waste time arguing with me, just fuck off.
• The words of others do not define you.
• “The journey may leave a scar, but scars can heal and reveal just where you are.” Life’s a journey and it will tear you apart and put you back together again, but that’s how we build character. Your experiences will mould you, colour you. Try and enjoy the journey.
• What others do to you does not define you. People are cunts on the whole. Don’t let a cunt rule who you become, reclaim your power and shine bright. Nothing pisses off a cunt like realising that they’re of no consequence.
• Sometimes you have to rediscover your heart to find peace. Maybe, even I need a little affection from time to time. Maybe I’m not completely dead inside.
• Stand for what you believe in.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.