First of 2018 in Adventures in Geocaching.

  • March 1, 2018, 2:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wanted to go out and try out my new to me Garmin Etrex on a local cache that I wasn’t able to grab last year.

First though, the kids and I headed to a cache I had already marked as found but was unable to sign the log due to it being water logged. I told the cache owner when I logged it as found and he got it replaced with a new container - I just hadn’t made it back out that way to sign it.

So anyways, we did that first. Then I set my gps to go to the other cache.

I’m happy to say it took us RIGHT to it. It was in the woods a little at the back of the small cemetery by our house. When I used my phone in the past, it would jump around a lot especially there was tree coverage.

So we located it and signed the log. They were both small caches, so no loot trading.

On my GPS - I log it as found, then when I get home I log onto geocaching.com and record my find there. It was nice on my phone because you can do it all instantaneously - but again my phone was not as precise and it drained the battery to have it running.

The boys were able to play Pokemon while we walked on my phone, so that was a plus too.

I need to go back through my DNFs (did not find) and try again with the GPS. Especially the ones where people found them after I had tried.

So yeah, I think the gps was definitely worth it - I can see it helping a ton. I do need to look into loading some maps onto it though, just some basic street maps. So I’m off to figure out how to do that ....


NeonLady March 01, 2018

Fun! I keep forgetting about geocaches. I still have the app on my phone though. :)

four leaf clover March 01, 2018

Sounds fun! I'll have to try geocaching sometime with Maddy.

Hillbilly Princess March 01, 2018

I love new toys.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.