worked yesterday in rants

  • Feb. 4, 2014, 4:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I retired about 5 years ago from my "regular" jobs. I was a high school teacher - day AND night high school.

For over 25 years, I've also worked as an interpreter in the court system in NYC. For about 20 years I worked in the District Attorney's office in Manhattan - lots of witnesses! When I began, most of the crimes were committed against Dominicans... they were the lowest on the socio-economic totem pole... had the worst jobs with the worst work schedule and were the most vulnerable. I KNOW Manhattan, especially the higher crime areas - uptown - where I have lived and worked most of my life. When one interview identified the "crime scene" he was describing... and it was on the CORNER where I live... it was time to make a change.

I had my phone number with both the Bronx and Brooklyn DA's offices, Although the Bronx is closer - a simple cross town bus ride - I was only called from Brooklyn. I haven't enjoyed riding the subway in years, but that's the only way to get there. I do NOT know Brooklyn. Most of the streets are named and the hardest thing to get right is when someone who speaks another language pronounces an English word in their own manner. I've been working in the grand jury in Brooklyn for about 6 years.

Some cases are ordinary, others are heart wrenching. I often work with the Crimes Against Children unit. Yikes. It's so hard NOT to cry while interpreting for the witnesses..

This is actually some woman's job, but if she will be out - doctor's appointment, etc. - I am called in to cover for her. USUALLY I am told a day or two in advance; yesterday I was called at 10:30 in the morning to get there IMMEDIATELY. Well, I had prepared to stay home all day, so was nowhere near ready... I got there around noon.

Often, I sit all day with nothing to do - read a book, do crossword puzzles - never really NOTHING. Better to have me there and NOT need me, than need me and not have me. Often I get so many cases, they back up on me. If I have to translate for a defendant, I may have to work overtime. The defendants are scheduled late in the day so there's no overlap between defendant and witnesses. One time, I got all the way home, and was asked to return - THAT was a VERY late night - I left after 9 p.m.!

Across the street from the courthouse where I work is the Tkts. booth. They sell discount tickets for Broadway shows for that night... or the next day's matinee (if the next day is Wednesday or Saturday). I used to go to the theater a LOT. Lately, not so much.


ermentrude February 04, 2014

It sounds a very hard job. I trained as a paralegal many years ago but hated being in the court so I didn't pursue the career. What sort of translation do you do? Which languages? X

Darcy0207 from OD ermentrude ⋅ February 04, 2014

I just realized I never answered your question. I guess I thought if I mentioned Dominicans, people would figure out it was Spanish. If I wrote that almost all the witnesses lately are from Mexico, that would be clearer. As I said... I am TIRED... and not thinking well right now.

Darcy0207 from OD February 04, 2014

Some days are easier. Although yesterday's case was difficult, the witness was a joy to spend time with. Today's case was simpler, but although the two witnesses were a cute couple, there was something "off" with them which made it uncomfortable for me. Plus, I hate working two days in a row... I'm TIRED.

Deleted user February 04, 2014

Id working in that type of job

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ February 04, 2014

?

Deleted user February 10, 2014

it does sound like it can be very trying, but interesting, too. i live in PA, always wanted to try living in NYC for a little while, just to see what it's like. have a feeling it would be a bit daunting, seeing as i live among the Amish :)

Darcy0207 from OD February 10, 2014

I would expect that living a quiet life, then switching to a large bustling city would be VERY stressful. It's hard to filter out the extra "noise".
Then there's the REAL noise... I live near a highway, and down the street from the firehouse.
Even though I am on the fifth floor, in the summer, when my neighbors are outside listening to music, they "share". I cannot avoid hearing it also.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.