3 Self-Discovery Prompts | Part 1 in Stimulating Prompts for Inner Growth & Understanding

  • Feb. 23, 2018, 12:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I will be doing 3 simple prompts that will help me learn more about myself. I encourage you to also fill this out in your own journal. You only get out of this, what you put into it. I am going to be raw. If anyone hasn’t read my first journal entry of why I am doing this, please read it here! This is just the beginning and I want to not only ease myself into this new ritual I am creating for my personal development, but for you all as well. First it is just getting used to have questions and really digging into them on a regular basis. Right now they are just prompts to stimulate inner reflection, growth, and understanding of myself (and yourself) - Eventually I will get more in-depth and dive into Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT) and Dialectica-Behavior Therapy (DBT) prompts that will help me really make some powerful forward movements. You’re welcome to just read or join the journey. $3.99 Get all 30 Prompts here!


  • My best friend is…
    I would say my best friend is S. She knows literally everything about me. If I am struggling with anything I always go to her to vent and let it out. She also comes to me when she needs help too. I think that’s what real friendships are about. We may not always agree, especially on things like politics, but we can put that stuff down and be there for each other when it matters the most. Support, care, and love each other.

I would like to also become my own best friend. I don’t love and trust myself as much as I believe I should or am capable of. I feel that I let myself down more often than not and that is why I don’t trust myself. I feel that I don’t love myself as much as I could because of growing up in such a toxic family, being picked on by others while growing up, and that just feeding into my own mentality of never being good enough for love.

I would like to grow my inner circle of friends. S. lives far away so technically where I live now, I have no one to really go to. No one to vent to in person, no one I can just call up. I have spent a lot of time in my life building up walls and not letting others in because it made me feel safer. Safer from the family who hurt and abused me, safer from the other kids and adults who hurt me. I suppose if I am going to be 100% honest. I haven’t ever felt safe and loved in this life.

I recently met this girl N, when I first moved here. I think I would like to try to become better friends with her. I invited her to go paint in the park this weekend, although it is cold so maybe paint in a coffee shop instead lol. We talked about it last time we hung out.

On Valentines Day I went to this speed dating game night. It was a lot of fun. They offered a section to put in girls names who you felt like maybe you could create friendships with. I had a couple girl matches. So, right now - because there isn’t any time more than the present - I will invite them out for coffee or something.

I can change these things. If I work hard and stay focused. I need to work on the following things.

  1. Learn how to trust myself. I can learn to trust myself, but making small steps each day. When I make a promise to myself, keep it. When I set limitations, keep them.
  2. Create a safe place for myself. I will make my room my safe place. It will be a place of rejuvenation and healing.
  3. Learn how to love myself. I will start journaling here prompts that will help me with self-love.
  4. Begin breaking down my walls so that I can have more friendships and be less isolated. I can accomplish this by reaching out more often to people I meet in the city to build more friendships. I will reach out to N. and the other two girls today.
  5. Join activities to make more friendships. I will start going to Yoga in the park. I won’t go this weekend because I need to do some things around my home, but next weekend I will make it a point to be there.

  • I’d really enjoy…
    I have this mindset that anytime I disappoint myself that I have to punish myself and do an extended amount of self loathing - for a while. Not even a healthy type of punishment. This past weekend I went out, spent too much money, drank too much, but had fun. However, it threw me all off for the rest of the weekend and week. I didn’t stick to any of my plans this week and habits I was trying to create for myself. It is time I redefine what I consider enjoyment and fun in my life. I want to change my approach. Next time I disappoint myself, because let’s face it - there is always going to be a next time. I will hop on here, journal it out and then remind myself to get back up on the horse and keep going. I only started feeling better when I started putting my foot in the saddle yesterday.

Some quality me time is where I am going to start. It is so important to take care of yourself. I know I lack on this, so much. I need to truly put myself first in all ways.

It has been a while since I have had a night in where I just indulge for myself. Friday early evening I will enjoy myself with a foot soak, face mask, have a yummy dinner. I will make a gluten free pasta dish with spinach and mushrooms and shrimp! I will enjoy a little dark chocolate treat of some sort. Then I will do a self-love worksheet here. This would be a wonderful way to spend my Friday night. I will post photos and write here about it!


  • I feel my future is…
    Complete up to me. My future will become based on the choices and decisions of todays actions and thoughts. Choosing to start journaling like this again is going to help my future immensely. I feel like my future will be bright. If I stay focused and serious about doing the self-work I need to do to help myself develop into the woman I am meant to be. I have big dreams and each day I am given an opportunity to move forward in all of them.

I know that I won’t feel this way every single day, but I hope to make the effort to always try and see the silver lining.

My future is in my hands. Events are going to happen, that’s fate. However, I decide how I will respond in those moments. The thoughts I will have. The actions I take. The response I give. I hope to be more thoughtful in those moments, more patient, less reactive and more proactive. This is where the Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT) and Dialectica-Behavior Therapy (DBT) will come into play.


Last updated February 23, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.