Mighty in Corvo

  • Feb. 17, 2018, 7:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve had a very mousy week, thanks to my cat.
He brought a live one inside on Monday, and lost it almost immediately. He found it again and brought it into the bedroom to play at 3am on Wednesday. I took it off him, caught it in a glass, and put it outside. He didn’t really notice, because he was sniffing around a bookcase looking for it. Eventually he gave up and came back to bed with me. When I got home from work that evening, he brought in another one, dead this time. It had some grass wrapped around it, so I think he’d stashed it somewhere specifically to bring it in when I was around. I pointed to the sliding door and said “out”, and I was really surprised when he obeyed. He sat just outside the door and started throwing it up in the air and catching it, or throwing it up in the air and then losing it behind him and looking around for it. Then he lay down and started chewing on it, and finally swallowed it whole, watching me through the window. I think he caught and saved this mouse and brought it to share with me, because I hadn’t known that I was supposed to play together with him and then eat it when he brought me the 3am one. He was teaching me. As soon as he was done eating it he came back inside and curled up with me on the couch for the rest of the night.
Late Friday night he came in with another live one, and took it straight to the bedroom to play, and this time ignored me when I told him to go outside with it. He stopped and looked at me with this expression, like I was inconveniencing him. It got away a few times, and ended up in the bathroom, which is where Corvo comes and goes through the window. Again I told him to get out, and pointed at the window, and he tried to brush past me and take it back into the house. When I stopped him he growled at me. He finally went outside, but only for a few minutes, I think to kill it, thinking that would make it OK with me, and then he kept trying to bring it back inside, and to run past me to the bedroom. He seemed as pissed at me as I was at him, like he thought we were past this now, and I should just let him do his thing. I was awake much later than I wanted to be, waiting for him to come back inside alone so I could shut up both in for bed.
It’s inconvenient and gross that I have so many mice in my life now, but I can appreciate that if there wasn’t a devil cat here to kill them they might well be finding their way in here anyway, eating my food and crapping everywhere. I also appreciate that Corvo might be bringing them to me as a sort of gift, or maybe a suggested shared activity, which is kind of sweet, in a feline sort of way. I’m assuming the local supply of mice is less than infinite, so he must run out sooner or later. Right?
https://www.instagram.com/p/BfSfC0hl-eK/


Last updated February 17, 2018


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.