Oh good. We're still going. in Site Updates

  • Feb. 16, 2018, 4:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have to admit, with the weird issues I was fighting last night, I wasn’t entirely confident the site would keep chugging along. I’d start up the app server and the first request would hang for about five minutes (had to change the timeout settings to get past that problem). Very weird, I suspect it was yet another thing I forgot to install on the server trying to initialize.

You know how when you get a new computer at either home or work, and you suddenly realize just how much crap you have to install to get everything you need on there? Yeah, pretty much that. There are people in the IT industry called “devops” - basically they automate all of that, or put it all in some virtual container that can be launched at the push of the button. Sadly, I’m not yet one of those people. So there was some grunt work and a lot of trial and error due to my suckiness at documenting things.

And now we’re on a completely up-to-date and fully patched web server, with a nice little certbot installed (which means that the “DANGER WILL ROBINSON!” error you get using prosebox.com instead of prosebox.net should be resolved as well). No, there was no grand conspiracy - just me letting my Linux distro fall behind and my provider deciding it was too risky to even provide boot support for old systems susceptible to Spectre and other hideous viruses/vulnerabilities.

I did notice some errors related to people trying to update profile images. I think I know what that is - one other thing that didn’t get installed, will look into that soon.


But wow. You guys. YOU GUYS. What an outpouring of kindness and understanding! There’s way too many comments for me to try to respond to individually, so here:

shoutout

I do take pride in this site, and it causes me anxiety when things don’t work. It’s always nice to be reminded of just how much enjoyment people get from the site, not to mention the therapeutic value of writing and sharing with friends.

All right, I guess that’s all for now. Thanks PB family!


NorthernSeeker February 16, 2018

Yay...I was glad to see the site back online this morning. Thanks for all your hard work.

abrawmclaren February 16, 2018

So happy to see the site back and running, and very grateful to you!

Camdengirl February 16, 2018

I really appreciate all the updates - I know how hard it is when you are trying to get stuff back up to have to stop and type out some kind of an update, but it just makes such a difference as a user to have that info!

Now come on, where's that DONATE button???

Echo February 16, 2018

You are simply the best.

ConnieK February 16, 2018

We loves you right back! Had to snicker about the conspiracy theories. It didn't take them long, did it? :)
I'm happy to be a member of the Prosebox family. Thanks. Now, go take a nap. You earned it.

MadSeason February 16, 2018

So extremley thankful for your dedication and hard work to get PB going again. Writing here, be it "public" or private, is such a lifeline, not just for me but for many others too. Keep up the good work, it is highly appreciated.

Deleted user MadSeason ⋅ February 16, 2018

What he said x2

Newzlady February 16, 2018

Thank you!

Maui Jim February 16, 2018

Aloha...
Thanks for the update and keeping us informed...

Anaiss February 16, 2018

We are very grateful. I'm sure this week was stressful and exhausting for you but we had faith in you. I hope you're able to get some down time this weekend and relax. Thanks!

Dancing.Shadow February 16, 2018

Keep up the great work!! :)

thesunnyabyss February 16, 2018

thank you again for your hard work,

EchoSeven February 16, 2018

T_T
Thank you SO MUCH for your hard work on this and for always keeping us updated. So glad it's all up and running again and SO glad to be back! <3

Firebabe February 16, 2018

Oh man, but the conspiracy theories were getting so good! Did you see the one about how Bruce backed a dump truck full of money up to your house, and you sold PB to him, and he took it offline so he could get rid of any competitors to OD? That one's my current fave.

Also, you and Jake Shears are like, twins, right? SOUL TWINS.

simple mind Firebabe ⋅ February 16, 2018

Yeah, I get confused for Jake Shears all the time. Not sure if it's my ripped physique (laugh) or my keen fashion sense (harder laugh).

Someone left a comment on FB asking if I'd considered selling the site to someone who has more time to maintain it. And while I consider all of my options, nobody has yet considered holding out a giant bag of money to me to see how I would respond. :D

santa monica simple mind ⋅ February 16, 2018

I saw that comment. Please don't sell! It wouldn't be the same without you! ...Unless someone came up to you with a sack with a dollar sign on it containing one million dollars. No one could turn that down.

dickson. February 16, 2018

HURRAY YOU ARE A GOOD HUMAN BEING.

here is no why February 16, 2018

thanks dude.

Lucretia February 16, 2018

Thank you again for all your hard work in making PB run again, we're all so grateful to you.

Neogy Titwhistle February 16, 2018

Good on ya man! Thanks! Add a paypal button or a patreon button?

Deleted user February 16, 2018

Thank you for getting it back up. I was kind of worried there for a bit. I’ve enjoyed this site a lot and would be sad if it shut down.

Nash February 16, 2018

Hey dude, no one should ever forget that you were the one who picked up the ball and ran with it when certain others incompetently dashed our community on the rocks.

Gilraent February 16, 2018

Huzzah!

Ms Tai February 16, 2018

I didn't realize how much time I spend here until it went down...and I for one remember all too well how many times OD crashed/vanished with minimum explanation or even apology. I looked at his new set up - it feels cold and stark and I'd far rather give you my cash than him. Yes please, do add a paypal or similar as I'm sure there's lots of us who feel the same way.

Thank you!

Anit February 16, 2018

I didn't understand half of what you said, but thank you thank you thank you for keeping us abreast on what was happening. Very happy to see the site back up! Yo deserve a drink or a cake or something when you get back some of the freetime this undoubtedly ate up:)

Sapphire's Gaze February 16, 2018

Thank you for your continued work in keeping PB online. We all appreciate your efforts. :)

Deleted user February 16, 2018

Hi
Thanks for your hard work and commitment to keep this site up. Now you know that building a site is way different from maintaining a site. Welcome to DevOps. ;-)

Bullwinkle6 February 16, 2018

My husband and I are smartphone app developers, so I get it. If technology can break, it will -- for no apparent reason at all. What works today, may not work tomorrow. It's the nature of the beast. Thanks for working diligently to get Prosebox up and running again.

aglow February 16, 2018

Seriously, so thankful for the time and effort you put in not just to getting the site back, but to keeping us all updated. WE COME FROM DARK TIMES, so the fact you made a point to keep us in the loop?

You're a good human. Thanks for being here.

Ginger February 16, 2018

Thank you for all the communication and keeping everyone updated. We can live with blips, especially if we know someone cares enough to do their best to make it right!

middle age pearl February 16, 2018

Grunt work! Do you have any idea how much you are appreciated? I hope you do and thank you for taking time and using your know how to actually DO the grunt work. Great Job!!

Mystery February 16, 2018

It's great to be back but I can't change my avatar.

TruNorth February 16, 2018

So grateful for your work. Can't thank you enough!

Drilldude February 16, 2018

Thankful for this place, and for all of your work. I'd choose this over the "other" place every day, hands down.

leonalia February 16, 2018

I so missed you. I would log on and still get the maint..page. I was thrilled to be back here this morning. Thank you for resolving the issues.

synapse February 17, 2018

Glad the site is back thanks for getting it back up

-b- February 17, 2018

Thank you for everything!

Deleted user February 17, 2018

We greatly appreciate you and the site !

Ophidia February 17, 2018

Thank you for everything you do!!

Dirty Numb Angelboy February 17, 2018

I was starting to think my conspiracy theories were correct for once lol. Thank you for all that you do. This place is so much easier to navigate. The mobile version is perfect and flawless. The option to have a black screen is easy on the eyes for night time writing and overall in general. This is home.

Narrator February 17, 2018

Yay! Thank you so much for putting in the time and getting the site going ( in the first place and then now). I’m so glad PB is back.

my.halo.has.slipped February 17, 2018

Great work and wonderful to see updates while the site was down. As others have said, I'd be happy to donate to the site if there as an option to do so. I used to PAY for OD and we all know how THAT went.

Deleted user February 18, 2018

You got a million thanks. But I want to give a million more for fixing it. My day isn't complete without popping in. I love the thumbs up.

janeanger February 18, 2018

I don't understand any of this, but I'm glad we're back!

Silverstar46 February 19, 2018

Thank you! I'm so happy you were able to get us back up and running.

ninakir88 February 21, 2018

Never leave me again <3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.