Fuck that guy. in 2018

  • Feb. 16, 2018, 1:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spent a good part of my day today expending mass quantities of energy thinking about, fighting about, crying about and feeling overwhelmed by this latest terrible display of humanity in Parkland.

I started a fight with Aaron’s cousin and subsequently was called a bitch by him (because aggressive /passionate female = bitch), and I subsequently unfriended him (which I’ve been DYING to do for over a year, tbh) and then was subjected to more drivel from him about the aforementioned fight via Messenger. Fuck that WITHOUT GUNS WE CANNOT GUARANTEE OUR RIGHTS guy, man. Fuck that guy.

PLEASE note: I have many friends that are responsible gun owners. They GET it. They understand COMMON SENSE GUN REFORM. I respect these people. I respect their right to hunt food that feeds their family and friends, and I respect their right to protect their homes. I GET IT.

It’s the person that says unequivocally that ”guns aren’t the problem, it’s people that are the problem” that I can’t fucking stand. Because without guns, these fucking trash human beings would NOT be EMBOLDENED and EMPOWERED to do what they are doing. Without the glamorization / glorification / sensationalization of these terrible events, they wouldn’t be INSPIRED to do what they do.

I get it, I do. Society is to blame. I agree, we need to change how we value human life. We can’t at the same time glorify violence in entertainment and then also act shocked when people act it out.

I get it, I do. Mental health is a severe issue. We need to address mental health, isolation, loneliness, depression, lack of support. We need to do something about this.

BUT WITHOUT ASSAULT WEAPONS PEOPLE WOULD NOT HAVE DEVASTATING WOUNDS FROM WHICH THEY CANNOT RECOVER. GUNS DO THAT! People don’t do that alone. They need GUNS to make it happen. And yes, people can ram a truck into a large crowd of people and do a lot of damage. And yes, explosives can also have the same effect. And even knives and lesser weapons can do a lot of harm.

BUT I will say it again: the combination of EMPOWERMENT that comes from shooting coupled with the desire to be INFAMOUS creates a different dynamic wherein assault rifles ARE the weapon of choice. Please, try to refute this. Because the evidence is ABUNDANTLY clear. The pattern is clear. Cause the most amount of damage as quickly as possible; Go down in a blaze of glory, OR escape death so you can revel in your accomplishment.

Guys. GUNS are the common denominator. They just are. So why can’t we at LEAST TRY to do something to make access to these devastating weapons of mass destruction more difficult? WHY????

I really just wanted to log HOW I FEEL because I want to remember HOW ANGRY I AM and I want to come back and revisit this every time I get complacent. I can’t handle it- the idea of people that shouldn’t have guns, having them, and time after time nothing is being done about it.

I hugged my kids so much, I stared at them and breathed them in. I’m so fucking lucky I don’t have to plan a funeral today. I’m so fucking mad that 17 families do.


Last updated February 16, 2018


Internet Stranger February 16, 2018

Hear Hear!

That sounds like a mighty fine reason to be an aggressive (hell, you have kids!) passionate woman. And good for you for blocking him!

You raise great points. To add to what you said about being able to ram with a vehicle...we realized those are murdermachines, and we require registration, testing, and licensure to operate them. And yet the gun-nuts (not the reasonable gun owners) think that's too far to go. -_-

rubix cube Internet Stranger ⋅ February 16, 2018

Right! I'm so lit up today about this because my response in the past has been so passive and I realize, now more than ever, that I CAN'T BE QUIET anymore. If that makes me a bitch, then AWESOME. So be it. If it takes millions of bitches to make this go away, then I'm all for it.

Ps. I'm normally pretty chill. I swear ;)

Internet Stranger rubix cube ⋅ February 16, 2018

The way you wrote led me to believe you're normally pretty chill. :)

But there are things worth being a bitch about, and this is seriously one of them.

I've been trying to make myself speak up more, and pay attention to when things are wrong more. It's making the world a whole different place for me. I'll be one of those million bitches with you!

Deleted user February 16, 2018

Guns are constitutional right, and I will defend that one to the end of the Earth. I am sorry that this did happen, but people are the problem and not the guns. There are tools and devices that can be used to cause similar things to happen. Were airplanes the problem with 9/11 or the terrorists that flew them into the twin towers?

rubix cube Deleted user ⋅ February 16, 2018

You're right, we have airplane mass killings all the time. So that logic totally works.

Deleted user rubix cube ⋅ February 16, 2018

Haha, is that the best you've got? Guns are not the only thing that kill people. Just because something is not a mass killing does not mean that you ignore or turn an eye to that situation. I was comparing one incident with another incident not all instances of killings. The logic goes when the airplanes collided into the twin towers people did not say airplanes kill people. What they did say is that terrorists killed those people. In this instance, the person holding the weapon did the killing. People kill people. What you are telling me is the opposite but in just this little special circumstance that the person welding the weapons is not the blame and that the blame is guns. You think that weapons kill people. Put a gun on the ground and watch it kill someone without no one welding it. The gun in that situation is harmless. The person was fucked up in the head, and he is the blame (not the gun) in this situation.

rubix cube Deleted user ⋅ February 16, 2018

Two things:

  1. After 9/11 policies and procedures changed. Since 9/11 we've had zero mass plane killings. So in that particular instance that you put forth, policies and procedures worked. The equation was terrorists + insufficient security / TSA procedures = dead people. They aren't mutually exclusive pieces of the equation.

  2. Totally right, a gun in the ground can't kill anyone. But a person without a gun can't shoot up a school. So you can't talk about one without talking about the other. It's an equation. You can't remove part of the equation and still have the same end result. Those people would NOT be dead from gun-related wounds if a gun wasn't involved. It's as simple as that. You can definitely create a hypothesis that says, oh he would have used x, y or z to do it if he didn't have a gun, but then we would be talking about regulating x, y or z as well.

Weapons kill people, cars kill people, drugs kill people - they all should have regulations to make it HARDER for these things to happen. It doesn't mean THEY WON'T, it just means we can make the likelihood LOWER. I don't understand why that's a problem.

Deleted user rubix cube ⋅ February 17, 2018

https://youtu.be/QKEdKdgi2hg

There is a link to Adam Ruins Everything that explains how the TSA does nothing to stop anything. There is also more to 9/11 than what we think we know.

Your solution would be to ban guns. Well, all that does is create a black market where you will leave innocent people defenseless without guns while criminals will have plenty. Is this the environment of your dreams? Guns are hear and people are going to use them. The best thing is to educate people on the correct way in which to use guns. There are also variables in the equation that you are not accounting for like situations like these. If someone wants a gun, then they are going to find a gun. The police should have stopped this guy before it happened with all the disturbing facts they knew about this individual. Why do you feel the need to take away a person's choice? Then, there is the 2nd Amendment, and I am not quite sure if you have a full understanding of the 2nd Amendment. What does the 2nd Amendment mean to you?

rubix cube Deleted user ⋅ February 17, 2018

My solution isn't banning guns - it's restricting access to guns that only serve to destroy en masse, and it's restricting access to those types of guns ESPECIALLY to people that are mentally unstable, terrorists, domestic abusers, etc. It's not that difficult. In my entry I clearly say I support guns for protection and hunting. But I don't think that just ANYONE should have access to a gun. That's fucking ridiculous. Just like there are plenty of people who shouldn't have driver's licenses. The 2nd amendment clearly states "WELL REGULATED" and therefore I wholly support the 2nd amendment. We don't have a good regulations in place. We barely have any regulations in place.

Why can't you agree that some form of regulation would be worthwhile? I don't get it. Of COURSE we can't make all violence go away, but we can sure make it harder to do it.

Deleted user rubix cube ⋅ February 18, 2018

2nd Amendment:

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

The well regulated part of the Constitution refers to the Militia not the guns. You are going to have define mentally unstable? Are you talking about any mental illness cause I do not support that because then people will just hide their mental illness and not seek treatment. If someone wants a gun they are going to get the gun, so by restricting certain types of guns you are creating a black market. The ones that are legally purchased are, normally registered with traceable bullets. If you create a black market then the registration and traceable bullets go away. I agree that terrorist and criminals should not have guns, but I do believe that when criminals are done with their sentence that they have the right to re-apply for that right to own guns. The 2nd Amendment is the right to revolution. The founding fathers did not know if this government was going to work, so they wanted people to be armed just in case if the government became too powerful then we could rebel and start a new government. Hence why they did not want the right to be infringed. There are those in politics who would love to do away with guns completely and starting to restrict guns will pave the way for them to continue to do so. Restricting guns will only make things worse, in my opinion. There is too much hate today, and I think we need to focus more on getting along with each other than anything else. These are my reasons as to why I believe some form of regulation would end up biting us in the ass. We keep giving the government power over our lives, and the idea of the creation of our government was to limit the power that it has over people lives.

ParyNoid February 16, 2018

I know many responsible gun owners - they don't own AR-15's. They own handguns or shotguns. They hunt deer during hunting season to feed their families. There is no reason upon this Earth why any average citizen needs a gun that can fire off many MANY rounds in a short time. The PROBLEM is that our ADMINISTRATION is getting tons of money from the NRA, therefore nothing is going to be done. Honestly, after this last situation I called my state rep and I told them my view. I don't think it'll change a goddamn thing, but at least I voiced my opinion. And my husband and I sat down and decided that our kid is going to be home schooled. I am not comfortable with sending him to a place where they have to have freakin' Live Shooter Drills. Nope, My small child is NOT going to go through that. So I kind of share your same sentiments. And I'm ashamed of my country and I'm embarrassed that our representatives in our government can be easily bought off and walk past people who are asking "why are our children dying" and be able to ignore those questions. I'm through being complacent and I will voice my opinions, no matter how unpopular someone who owns an assault rifle might think it is.

rubix cube ParyNoid ⋅ February 16, 2018

It's infuriating.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.