Ramblings of life currently in Musings

  • Feb. 11, 2018, 3 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another weekend gone by in a blur. I feel like it just started. I do really like weekends but I like Mondays too. A new start. A mini refresh button. I have a week of healthy meals planned. When Nathan wakes up from his nap he’s going to stay with the kids so I can go grocery shopping alone. We trade off doing the shopping but I actually enjoy going alone out of the house.

I’m not sure if I ever wrote about this here, but we planned on putting Leah in full day pre K back in the fall, but Nathan’s Mom who is a teacher thought she was too young (August birthday) so she offered to pay for Leah to be in a 3 day a week program. We took her up on her offer. To be honest, I don’t like it very much. She’s in the program with mostly 3 year olds and I feel like they’re bringing her down since they’re more immature. Plus the program is terrible with communication.

Anyways, we saw his mom this weekend and mentioned Kindergarten next year. His mom was like “NO! She’s too young. Send her to Pre K” But I just don’t want to. I appreciate her advice and all they do for us but I want to send her Kindergarton. She’ll be 5 by September 1st so she makes the cut off by a couple weeks. And I’m just ready to get her on track. She’s smart and if she does PreK I feel like she will be learning all the same things she learned this year and will once again be bored. I don’t like feeling like I’m disappointing my mother in law but she’s our kid and Nathan and I both want her in K. So that’s that.

So it looks like my brother and his wife might be moving here! He had a phone interview Friday and has I’m in person interview this next Friday. He said the lady really seemed to like him. I pray it all works out. It’d be awesome to have them here. They’ll be starting a family in a couple years and want to be close to my parents and to us too. I can’t wait to be an aunt and for the girls to have cousins!

Nathan’s vasectomy is scheduled for next month. We have known we were done having kids for a while but this makes it so official. Gimme all the loaner babies (nieces, nephews, friend’s babies) but I’m glad I’ll never be pregnant or have a newborn ever again. It gives me such a happy settled feeling.

Friday I took both of the girls to lunch and shopping and I noticed how much easier it has gotten. It used to be so hard to take them anywhere by myself much less a whole afternoon and 30 minutes in the car back and forth. I can’t decide if Alex is an easier toddler than Leah was or if I’m just used to it by now or if it helps her to have a sibling to look up to and to entertain her. In any case it’s a relief. It makes me actually look forward to this summer and doing fun things with them.

That’s enough rambling for now. ✌🏻


Down&Under February 11, 2018

Mama bear knows best (:

sourapple February 11, 2018

Sounds like you have very good reasons for wanting her to go into Kindergarten! It's tough toeing the line with in-laws, but it sounds like you'll be handling it gracefully.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.