Such Tired. in Ponderings of the Universe

  • Feb. 10, 2018, 11:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Work has been kicking my ass lately. We’ve been so busy. I don’t know if we’ve been unseasonably busy, if it’s because we’re short a doctor with H on maternity leave, or both. My 4 hour half day shift turned into 8 hours today. I had to go in early to finish billing for two specialty surgeries whose owners were picking up. Then, despite the schedule saying most of our appointments were vaccines and such, they almost all turned into diagnostic appointments, plus some walk in appointments, we ended up an hour behind schedule. Then, I stayed nearly 3 extra hours to catch up on paperwork-I had like 35 records to write in from the week as well as today’s appointments and they were all complicated. I still have 7 left but I couldn’t make myself do any more.

Our extern’s time with us is over and I’m sad about it. She was great to work with and everyone liked her. We very informally offered her a job. She already has a year long internship set up for after she graduates, but I think we tempted her. She’s going to think about it and get back to us. She might also consider working for us after her internship if she doesn’t go on to do a residency. M and I were talking today that we felt kind of bad that we were wishing she’d cancel her internship and come work with us. We certainly have the workload. Plus, J apparently wants to work more part time as he and his wife are adopting another child. M would like to be slightly more part time and I’d like to cut back on hours someday as well. It’s all a pipe dream at this point but it would be really awesome.

I have my continuing education convention this next week. Instead of being in downtown Minneapolis like it usually is, it’s 2 hours away in Rochester, MN. I’m so annoyed. I’m going to be missing some of it due to transport time, etc. But I don’t care because it technically does not matter if I don’t fulfill all my C.E. hours since it’s my first time renewing my license and they waive C.E. hours. It’s weird. I hope I learn something interesting at least.

My mom and I have sort of planned a girls trip around it. She needs a break and will hopefully get some good relaxation in. Then, when I’m not in class, we can hang out, do some exploring, etc. Or we might just hide in our hotel room, order room service, and watch bad TV.

I’m so tired but also feel restless.


TellTaleHeart February 16, 2018

Sucks that the convention is farther away, but if you can make a girls trip out of it, that sounds wonderful!

I'm an Okking Fool TellTaleHeart ⋅ February 22, 2018

It actually ended up being lots of fun!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.