Revamping the entry page in Site Updates

  • Feb. 4, 2014, 1:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Those with an attention to detail will probably notice I've been messing with the entry page the last few days. Hopefully people like my "improvements" (I suppose it's all relative). I bumped up the maximum column width, as well as increased the font size for the main column. My reasoning for restricting the column size is trying to strike that balance of keeping things readable across lines, and that's harder to do with a smaller font.

I also removed a bunch of the box panels, felt it was a bit too boxy.

I want it to look simpler, friendlier. Here's hoping.

UPDATE

Oh yeah, I'm digging the larger Georgia font. I'll be making changes to other pages to standardize this. Too big is a lot better than too small so I will error on the side of largeness.


littlefallsmets February 04, 2014

Anything you could do to fix the "putting in two spaces at the end of poetry or lyrics to make them display correctly" awkward workaround around would be awesome. Just me personally, I write a lot of poetry and lyrics and... it's actively making it hard for me to get used to this place.

simple mind littlefallsmets ⋅ February 04, 2014

Well, it's not so much a workaround as a Markdown standard. So unless I offer up an alternate formatting option or I find a plugin that does that without breaking everything (I tried something similar once before), it is what it is.

Dean Moriarty simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2014

i saw this after I posted a note down there saying pretty much the same thing.
no worries then.
We will adapt.
thank you for being here.

EvequeFou simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2014

Maybe adding a toolbar button in the editor to auto-insert spaces would help the people for whom it's an issue? It doesn't sound like the complaint is so much the Markdown formatting, but the requirement to manually do it on every single line.

Shattered EvequeFou ⋅ February 07, 2014

What sucks most about two spacing it... Is you can't have stanzas... Triple spacing doesn't help to separate it any more. So it's kinda like one long run on list.

Ad Astra Per Alas Porci. February 04, 2014

I like the changes so far. :3

Nash February 04, 2014

Definitely an improvement.

hoops February 04, 2014

definitely loving the increased font size, it makes a huge difference.

Starhawk hoops ⋅ February 04, 2014

Seconded.

simple mind hoops ⋅ February 04, 2014

That's right! You're an old guy like me! Down with eye strain!!

Lachlanne February 04, 2014

Hey, I'm just stoked that this site A.) works and B.) I can get here via my phone.

.Java.Junkie. Lachlanne ⋅ February 04, 2014

Agreed

Raven .Java.Junkie. ⋅ February 04, 2014

And very tablet friendly, as well, as I end to use my tablet when I am having insomnia. Easier than firing up the laptop at 4am.

Lepetit pumpkinesque Lachlanne ⋅ February 04, 2014

I LOVE how accessible and user friendly it is to post/read from my phone too!

.Java.Junkie. February 04, 2014

Will there be any changes coming soon to the staging of the bookmarks list anytime soon?

MissMeg February 04, 2014

Not a huge fan of the bigger font. But I do get that it's more readable. Maybe a customization we'll be able to tweak on our own someday down the road?

frazzled February 04, 2014

looks great! I love the simplicity of everything. My OCD finds it soothing.

sassafras February 04, 2014

I love the bigger font. The only thing I struggle with is having to scroll all the way down in order to read a previous entry. i.e. I have a large bookmarks list. If I know that one of my bookmarks has updated twice since I last saw them, I click on their most recent entry that's right at the top of my bookmarks. But knowing that I want to go back an entry, I have to scroll all the way down to find the "previous" button under "more entries". Not that big of a deal, but eh... I liked it in the beginning when you could navigate entries from the top of the page. Could just be me though. :)

Lepetit pumpkinesque sassafras ⋅ February 04, 2014

I struggle with this too... I kind of wish it was more like (I hope Simple Mind doesn't kick my ass) OD in the sense that I wish we could see our friends in a list- and their latest entry instead of 8 pages of recents, because some people post A LOT in a day and I don't want one whole page of their bs.

sassafras Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ February 04, 2014

Hahah, I definitely agree with you on that!

Teflon Superhero Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ February 04, 2014

If you select "bookmarks by user" it should function similar to that! :)

Lepetit pumpkinesque Teflon Superhero ⋅ February 04, 2014

Ooooh thanks!

Teflon Superhero Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ February 04, 2014

no problem!! :)

pks February 04, 2014

a bigger font puhleeze!

Dean Moriarty February 04, 2014

I'm in the process of moving my 1800 entries from opendiary here, as are a ton of other people. It's like Scarface. All the outlaws from cuba...er...od...have hopped on a rowboat and are ending up on your shore with our crime, drugs, bad manners, and terrible taste in cars. I appreciate everything about this site. The one thing I would suggest is to change the formatting so a single "enter" moves text to a new line. It appears that way when writing an entry or a note, but upon posting, it ends up being one big paragraph.

Double enter works.
And I did read the double space trick that was posted.
But When it comes to copying and pasting almost two thousand entries, going through and reformatting each one is a daunting task.

Also, an edit note button would be sweet. But I'm not complaining about anything, I'm just thankful you're here.

Deleted user Dean Moriarty ⋅ February 04, 2014

Your opening made me lol.

simple mind Dean Moriarty ⋅ February 04, 2014

Heh. Well I appreciate that, and I'm always open to suggestions. Though I find myself much more amenable to your friendly tone than some of the other suggestions on here. :D

Flame is Love February 04, 2014

It's gigantic on my iPad. I'm afraid people will be able to read over my shoulder. Perhaps an option to customize the font size to our liking? I'd also like to change fonts independent of the color scheme. I want a serif font, no matter my colors.

Deleted user February 04, 2014

Thank you for everything you're doing here. It's a wonderful site and I'm very thankful you're improving it for us.

crystal butterfly February 04, 2014

I will agree with an above noter. I really like being able to reply to a note. But what I have found on my write a diary page is that when I click on the preview I get a blank page. The last time it just didn't work. The time before it did and that made me happy.

I am kind of glad that I'm not friends with the person moving 1800 entries because they would all show up as a new bookmark and completely fill that part of my diary.

Deleted user crystal butterfly ⋅ February 04, 2014

Lol (to the last paragraph)

beauty.inside.me crystal butterfly ⋅ February 04, 2014

Me too! I would love to drop 3ooo entries, but without an xml, I will just leave it on my desktop. :D

crystal butterfly February 04, 2014

Oh, yes, I also like that Back to top button. :)

Deleted user February 04, 2014

I'm afraid the font looks GIGANTIC to me... perhaps in Settings we can choose which size we prefer?

Cat Mommy Deleted user ⋅ February 04, 2014

Yes please! Agree x1000!

Leanne 🌈 February 04, 2014

I am a digging the increased font size all good.

Reading_Blankie 📚 February 04, 2014

I like the changes, however I would like an option to change it if necessary. If one is using a public computer you could totally be a noser and read what the other is reading and/ or writing about. ITS H U G E on my ipad. Love the reply thingey to notes.

I see that most of the pictures are hosted from other websites( photobucket, etc) and you use html gobbidy gook when posting a picture in your entry. I understand SOME html but others might scratch their heads and go, "what?"

Also, maybe you could do a tag system on entries in different books. i.e .. say i make a cooking one. one tag could be, "cake pops" and another could be "cookies." The more you write about "cookies" the bigger it gets. I like to see how much I write about "stuff". :)

Be well. :)

Deleted user February 04, 2014

I realise that I dont need my reading glasses anymore in here. :)

Princess Buttercup February 04, 2014

I thought I was going crazy and I had accidentally changed the zoom on my browser! lol Glad its not me. It is easier to read. :)

Jigger February 04, 2014

Dude, what's with all the clear, friendly, helpful communication? You're making it difficult to feel all slighted and marginalized by The Powers That Be when you do this. THIS IS NOT HOW THIS IS SUPPOSED TO WORK.

simple mind Jigger ⋅ February 04, 2014

It's cool. My next move will be to post another entry asking for suggestions. And then I will leave for at least two years. Everyone's going to feel right at home!

Jigger simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2014

Well, all right, as long as you have a plan in place. I will totally hold my breath.

beauty.inside.me simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2014

HAHA! <glare> no. :D

Jack February 04, 2014

I'm the local chapter president of the Cambria Font fan club.

Deleted user February 04, 2014

Yeah the font is huge on an Ipad. Can you build in options so we can adjust the size? Also maybe the ads should go in the margins.

celador February 04, 2014

I don't like the font size, it's huge! I thought I'd accidentally zoomed in on the page. x

Etoile Filante February 04, 2014

I love it!

Cat Mommy February 04, 2014

The font size was perfect before. I feel like I'm reading one of those large print phonebooks that my grandparents used to have. It would be really nice to give us a choice on this since it's clear a lot of people find this doesn't look very good.

minnie58 February 04, 2014

I do not hate the font change. I COULD NOT SEE IT BEFORE!!! One of the reasons I didn't like to write here. And it looks much better. THANK YOU!!! I'm sure eventually you'll make it so those who don't like the larger font can change it. Thanks again hun for catering to us "old people" ...haha. We appreciate. :-)

Crazy-ish Bitch February 04, 2014

The larger font kinda makes me feel like people can read over my shoulder easier... lol.

Jane Says February 04, 2014

Georgia font = YES Humungo = NO

If there were a way to increase/decrease the default font size for just your own entries, I would be happy to live with it for everything else. Otherwise I respectfully request it be made a wee bit smaller. I'd rather not use markup but I will if I have to :)

Jane Says February 04, 2014

But having more space is great! Column width adjustment is nicey nice. Thank you!

Deleted user February 04, 2014

I'm in favor of smaller fonts myself, to reduce the amount of scrolling needed. For those with presbyopia, drug stores do have an extensive variety of styles of reading glasses for $15 or less.

perfunctory February 04, 2014

Loving the changes!

Deleted user February 04, 2014

Yeah, the more I see the Reader's Digest Large Type Edition Prosebox the less I like it. I even tried View / Zoom Out on my browser to see if that would help. Bleh. But I guess I'll get used to it...

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ February 04, 2014

Lol so witty :)

Deleted user February 04, 2014

Hi

Keep up the good work. I noticed a few but not all these changes.

Can you add the following features...when you get a chance.

Instead of 'next and previous' buttons on the navigation bar, for current authors, place 'first', 'previous', 'next', 'last' buttons below 'leave comment' button. It will make navigation across entries of the favorite book easier.

Implement an XML import, so that OD entries and its notes can be imported here. This will establish this site quickly among the community.

Thank you.

Life Is For Living February 04, 2014

Okay, I think I am in the minority here & I realize not everyone will be happy with change. BUT -- I don't like the huge-ass font. I love Georgia, that is great. But the huge font? Eh. I prefer smaller. I definitely second a previous noters comment about customizing font on the toolbar in an entry that way.

STILL -- thank you for keeping us so up-to-date on the changes you make & for everything you do!

Deleted user February 04, 2014

Definitely noticed the difference on my phone! Thank you :)

Silverkitty February 04, 2014

You really need to move the navigation bar UP the screen to put it above the help box and the 'search' box. There's no way to get to a person's previous entry without a whole lot of scrolling!

hot-lips February 04, 2014

I'm with a few people who find the font a bit too big. What would be great, is if we could have the same sorts of options on the toolbar as the OD entry did - so to amend our own text size, to add colour to the font and so on.

Deleted user February 04, 2014

Can't say that I like the bigger font. Entries become huge, if you like to write a lot.

frazzled February 04, 2014

I realize I am being picky, but I prefer the old font. :(

love.me.for.me February 04, 2014

I don't mean to complain... but I am not a fan of the huge font. Maybe compromise and make it smaller than this but bigger than the one we used to have?

Deleted user February 04, 2014

Most accessibility guidelines recommend 12 point fonts for screen reading. Serif fonts are fine on high resolution displays; some phones don't render them well, and they're hard to read.

I thought the font you had originally as the default was fine, but that's just me.

It would be wonderful if others could change that default to different point sizes and font faces... but I wish they could change it for themselves only, and not for everyone who reads them, like themes are now.

Jane Says February 04, 2014

Right now? It is PERFECT. Love it :D

Cat Mommy February 04, 2014

Got a question for ya that just occurred to me. With taking the boxes away on our entries; when you introduce backgrounds how is that going to work? What I mean is with the boxes the entry wouldn't need to be read on the background making it easily readable and without the boxes the writing will be right on the background that could possibly be quite busy which would obscure the view.

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ February 04, 2014

Yeah, I'm rethinking that a bit. You should check out medium.com. I really love their design. The typography, the design. I think something like what they do, where you can add a large header image for your title/author region would be really cool and modern looking, and give people that extra touch of personalization (it could even be a per entry thing, with a default image to fall back on).

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2014

Ha, the first thing I thought when you put that big-ass Georgia font in was "he's been reading Medium."

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ February 04, 2014

Yeah, you got me. But I did tone it down a little bit. :)

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2014

I actually hate Medium because it's pretty inflexible (you can't put images or control typography anywhere in your entry) but I love the commenting facility- it's awesome that you can attach comments to lines in someone else's entry.

I read an article a few days ago with someone explaining why they left Medium... let me find it for you...

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2014

here, http://kennethreitz.org/why-i-left-medium/

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2014

You're a minimalist and I am absolutely 100% behind that. Your idea (and Medium's) is that it's the content that matters, that content should be presented simply and beautifully and in a way that makes it a pleasure to read and effortless to navigate.

There are two troubles with Medium's approach. One, you have to scroll, scroll, scroll to get through all that beautiful typography. You're restricted to a tiny viewport of the article. It reminds me a bit of Edward Tufte's rant against Powerpoint, you get info in six-bullet bursts.

Two, what the hell are most users going to do with that picture space on top of an entry? There are some great photographers on Prosebox, but most are like me---not so much. Medium makes it work because they provide a library of beautiful templates. $$$$!

It's #1 that bothers me about Medium, though. I love a clean, uncluttered page but I like being able to roam it freely. I only get to see a few paragraphs at a time; I'm constantly scrolling around to read. That's a serious failure, in my humble opinion.

I want about the same amount of information on the screen that I get from a page in a book.

I like the current font and size a lot, now. If the other elements are designed consistently it'll be an improvement.

Oh, and I really hope I'm not pissing you off, man.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ February 04, 2014

Yeah, don't take my latest entry personally. I'm just getting overloaded with feedback since I had the audacity to mess with people's fonts. Hence the Suggestion Box is going to take a hiatus this month while I explore my own creative space. :)

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2014

Hee, well, take it as a complement, the uproar you can cause by changing something as small as a font---it really shows how people have become invested in their space, here.

magicstar February 04, 2014

I actually find the larger font difficult. I agree that a customizable option would be best, because most everyone will agree that super tiny font is not good, going larger, from a typesetting stand point, is also not good. You get a new set of problems the larger and more spaced out a font gets. For me, it tires out my eyes and sometimes gives me a headache. And I could go on and on, but I know typesetting isn't as exciting for most people as it is for me. :p

setsuai February 05, 2014

Simply controlling the font on your browser is much easier (and enables each person to control how websites look to them individually) than making an entire website have larger font for a certain, sometimes small, group of individuals.

Every browser has a way to control font size. For Firefox, it's under "View" and "Zoom" or you can simply press and hold (on your keyboard) Control (Ctrl) while at the same time typing ++ (that's the plus sign twice). To zoom out press and hold Control (Ctrl) while at the same time typing -- (that's the minus sign twice). This works on every website with Firefox and is site wide, so once you set it for a website, it will be that way every time you visit it.

I know there are methods to do this with every browser, so if you need help to minimize OR maximize a website's text size, simply Google the name of your browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome etc.) and increase/decrease font size. You should then have a list of helpful instructions to aide in accomplishing your desired effect.

simple mind setsuai ⋅ February 05, 2014

Yeah, I use my browser's zoom function constantly so I know all about that. For me it's about changing the site's design aesthetic so that I'm happy with the default presentation. Making the font bigger also enables me to widen the main content column without making the lines of text seem ridiculously long - and the zoom feature scales everything accordingly for those who want it bigger/smaller.

Daisy Mae February 05, 2014

Lol - this whole comment section has cracked me up! Every one has an opinion and they are going to share it with you whether you like it or not.

And you had the audacity to change something on a free site...

Me, I'm just glad I'm not in a sinking boat anymore. You're doing a grand job :)

Deleted user February 05, 2014

Hi

What is 'your' thought process behind having the ability to create books? How is it different from having a single diary but various chapters and entries in those chapters?Or in a OD fashion, one book per user and the user decides whether an entry can be private, friends only, members only, and public?

Just interested in understanding your philosophy.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ February 05, 2014

I suppose books and chapters are really no different under the hood - it's just a mechanism to categorize really. An extra key in a database table to say where something belongs. I remember having friends on OD that had completely separate diary accounts for various things - and I remember thinking it would be nice to be able to manage all of that through one account.

incredulity February 05, 2014

I'm a fan of Georgia so I approve of its use. I appreciate that you're taking the time to better this place. Just wondering if you'd considered putting a "reply" link directly on each comment, which, when clicked, could expand a comment box? I would prefer to reply directly from my comments page, rather than going to each entry. Thanks.

celador February 05, 2014

The font size is suddenly huge again. Really don't like it, sorry :( x

simple mind celador ⋅ February 05, 2014

I changed it again. I'm all compromised out at the moment so hopefully you like it. :)

Atrophy February 05, 2014

I don't like the larger font that much, though I can understand the readability issue. Maybe an option so we can choose our own font sizes?

simple mind Atrophy ⋅ February 05, 2014

Yeah, I'll make it more customizable at some point. Right now I'm just looking for that sweet spot for the default appearance. Better?

Atrophy simple mind ⋅ February 06, 2014

This is looking a lot better, thanks! :) Keep up the good work you're doing.

QueenSuzu February 06, 2014

when i first came on here, i could "bookmark" diaries, now i do not find that option at all. I can only "friend" or "follow" new diaries. Why is this?

simple mind QueenSuzu ⋅ February 06, 2014

Yeah, I'm changing the terminology a bit. Follow is the same as bookmark.

QueenSuzu February 07, 2014

thanks so much for clarifying that for me. i'll change them to follow now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.