Tonight in Soul Journey

  • Feb. 9, 2018, 10:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is the Lyrebird awards tonight. I am going as Owen’s guest. This is very nice of him. Over the years he has taken me 5 times. It isn’t a cheap night by any standards. Red carpet affair and all that jazz for Community Theatre.
Takes in Musicals, Comedies, Dramas. Also, school productions. The first half of the evening are the awards themselves, done very Hollywood, interspersed with performances from the different groups represented. Then after a big dinner with dancing and lots of Champagne etc.

The biggest thing of the night, of course, will be the “Bull Shit”. Everyone fawning over everyone else. Greeting each other like long lost family members. Lots of ‘darling’ and ‘sweetie’ kissy kissy. You get the picture. That is the way theatre folk are the world over it seems. Generous to a fault but to me it is what it is. Bull Shit. The youngies love it. The girls swanning around in lovely frocks etc. The gay boys swanning around, some in outrageous outfits and the up and coming male leads on the look out for agents, everyone else getting sozzled. Very loud music, lots of dancing, each trying to outdo each other. I am being overly critical, I admit.

To be really honest if I didn’t have to go I wouldn’t. But Owen is so excited about it all. He is President of Barbirra. One of the best Musical Theatre Companies in the Biz. They had 30 nominations 15 each in two shows. Thoroughly Modern Milly and a wonderful production of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. I have to say their productions are just wonderful. I do love holding Owen’s hand as the awards are presented. His passion for the company is just incredible and they are very lucky to have someone like him in charge.

It will be great to see fellow actors I have worked with in the past. Some whom I just love. However, there will be a couple of Diva’s who drive me nutz.
One will be at our table. The others know her well. She is full on. The thing I dislike the most about her is her potty-mouth. Nearly everything that comes out of her mouth is peppered with sexual innuendo. She thrives on attention and laps it up. Still it is only one night.

My biggest decision today is what to wear. My darling sister has offered a gorgeous dress which I am going over to try on later today. Stay tuned.


northern lights February 09, 2018

Have fun!!

Deleted user February 10, 2018

I hope it’s a better night for you than you anticipate.

noko February 10, 2018

Best wishes for moments of delight. I used to take ballet as an adult at the school of the San Francisco Ballet and sometimes there would be young company members or older students in the dressing room and the language on them! It made quite as impression on me so I have had a little taste of what you are talking about here.

kmh. February 12, 2018

I work in the entertainment industry and am very familiar with that "Bull Shit" you talk about. I hope you did manage to enjoy the night.

leonalia kmh. ⋅ February 17, 2018

yes I most certainly did. I actually turned out to be one of best award shows, I have been too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.