The Smile in Strangely Estranged

  • Feb. 7, 2018, 6:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I never noticed it, it seemed so natural. I’d seen it my entire life and that’s how things were. Never did I suspect it was a facade. Sure, maybe on occasion you have to force a smile. But this is much different. They’re not happy with us. They’re not pleased at the situation at all.

Here I was thinking everything is fine, we’re all getting along, right? I didn’t even realize it was “us” and “them”.

I’ve been a brash American to other Americans and never even knew it. How did they blend in so well? “They” still feels like “us” to me though.

And the “gay” us is suddenly “them” and it’s heartbreaking. “Gay” has always been “us”… this can’t be! Wouldn’t “gay” rule out over “them”? No… “they family” trumps “gay family” as I’ve recently learned. Now I have no family.

But how could I ever foresee any of this. The smile seemed so genuine. Wish they’d told me, hinted? Maybe they did and I couldn’t see.

Now things are upside down and I don’t know what to do. Wish I’d had a clue my whole life. Now it’s too late… right? Way too late. 😟


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.