Beluga Sevruga in Magical Realism

  • Feb. 7, 2018, 3:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This year has been grating on me so far. For various reasons I cut way back on travel, my brother got married, and I’ve been working way too much. At least six of my friends’ parents died in the first weeks of January.

This weekend we flew to Hong Kong for a marathon swim and we had a beautiful high rise hotel room with balcony, convenient direct flight, seamless logistics and beautiful scenery for the swim. On the flip side, I was uncomfortably cold the whole time, stung by exotic jellyfish, came in dead last, and felt completely miserable for a good chunk of the swim. Barely made the cut-off time, feeling like crap, too little training, too much drinking, hadn’t been sleeping and we’ve been eating poorly. I stumbled up onto the beach, so ungracefully, and of course they were filming me live. I went to shower and it was cold, managed to dry and dress myself, remove zinc, and look fairly human again.

Awards ceremony went okay, weird to be in one of the few swim events in the world where I didn’t know many people. Then they took us out afterwards and it was amazing, such interesting people from all around the world, great conversations, terrific food, but after a couple hours A was about to fall asleep at the table and I wasn’t too far behind. I got an Uber for us and a Tesla picked us up, which was unexpectedly cool.

Shower and wine and intense sleep until it was time to pack and head out to airport. Woke up with horrific jellyfish stings on all my limbs, sea lice everywhere my swimsuit covered, and nasty chafe on my neck (I never get this, even after 10 more hours in similar conditions for the English Channel, so think my skin was compromised from the jelly irritation. Or I am defective.) Airport lounge drinks and noodles and then 16 hours of sleep on the plane punctuated by more wine and Game of Thrones re-runs.

Didn’t try to do work on the plane but the emails hit me as soon as we landed. We got in an hour earlier than expected but work was crazy so I ended up working from about 4pm to midnight anyway. Fairly productive day working from home today alternating Neosporin and Aquaphor on my lesions but still feeling super low. Seeing awful photos of myself coming out of the swim didn’t help. I wouldn’t mind looking like Ursula the Sea Witch if I could at least swim well. Or steal people’s powers and souls and shit. Need to get my life in order.

Maybe writing will help.


Last updated February 07, 2018


kmh. February 07, 2018

Miss your writing on here <3
Sounds like a rough swim, and ouch from the jellyfish!
Look after yourself x

Bluesea February 07, 2018

I recently realized that almost all my friends have now lost a parent. I guess it is sad proof that we are getting older.

I love hearing about your swims, even the bad ones. I so hope we are cultivating a life long love of swimming in Calla.

Deleted user February 07, 2018

Ouch on the jelly fish ! Glad to see an entry from you ! And wow to go to Hong Kong and all the interesting things you saw there . How was riding in a Tesla ? You could never be Ursula !

Red February 07, 2018

Complicated Disaster February 07, 2018

Everyone has bad days! Don't sweat it :-)
And ugh. I'm not sure which makes me cringe more - the lice or the jellyfish!
xx

Satine Complicated Disaster ⋅ February 07, 2018

I am tempted to post a jellyfish picture on FB, but I feel like I absolutely hate sunburn photos that folks have posted - what do you think?

Complicated Disaster Satine ⋅ February 07, 2018

I think sunburn is stupid and swimming through jellyfish is hardcore! xx

Satine Complicated Disaster ⋅ February 07, 2018

There's just no...alternative?

Complicated Disaster Satine ⋅ February 07, 2018

This is why I prefer fresh water! Lol xx

Satine Complicated Disaster ⋅ February 07, 2018

That is true! Most of my long swims lately have been in lakes, I've probably gotten soft :)

Complicated Disaster Satine ⋅ February 07, 2018

Soft? You're my inspiration! Xx

Ginger Snap February 07, 2018

Thinking of you. I’m so sorry you’re feeling low. Sounds like jet lag got you a bit as well. 😞

hot-lips February 07, 2018

I was thinking of you recently, how I hadn't seen an entry for a while. :) Sorry to hear about the not so good swim, the jelly fish stings and your friends' parents'. :( Get plenty of rest so your next swim will be better. x

pandora February 07, 2018

I'm sorry. It's been a shit year so far for a few people I know, myself included. I knew I hated even years! What is sea lice? Could you SEE them, or just bites from them?

I hope at least your brother's wedding was enjoyable..!

Satine pandora ⋅ February 07, 2018

Hi! Sea lice are jellyfish larvae - sometimes you can see them or feel them in the water (feel like chunks of jello) or see them on the inside of my suit when I took it off. Blahhhhh.

dickson. February 07, 2018

Ugh, that sucks your Hong Kong adventure was a bit of a bust. I hope for nothing but great things to happen to you from here on out this year. And yes, WRITE!

Athena February 07, 2018

lordy it all sounds very rough. i think you need some time off!

Jigger February 07, 2018

Routines are good. Writing makes a good routine. I'm sorry it was a bad outing, but you went, and you finished. Never look at those pictures again--look at your Antarctic ones instead. I loved those.

plushcreep February 07, 2018

I'm trying to decide which is worse, sea lice or jellyfish. Seems like a toss-up. Sorry for your rough swim.

aussie_powers February 09, 2018

propland March 16, 2018

Hi!!!! I've missed you. Also you are amazing!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.