Best music use in a film in Prosebox Desert Island Discs

  • Feb. 3, 2014, 5 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay I have two for this... and one is slightly cheating because I put the music in the film!!!

So first one:

I love this film - it has loads of references and reminds me a lot of my time in London, ex boyfriends and the madness which is growing up... The title sequence slides over a beautifully lit range of tattoos as the Sterophonics "Just Looking" kicks in. The rest of the film is sweet if a bit silly.

This film is one of the reasons I was inspired to take my Evil Corporation job - the idea of being able to suggest music for films like this totally rocked my boat.

And the second one:

This is a cheat because it's actually some music I put into a film - the artist Cat Stevens decided about 30 years ago to become a Muslim and withdraw from his secular life. He hadn't allowed his music to be used for years, believing it to be an evil force. My old boss KC persuaded him to let one track be used on a cancer advert and he reached the conclusion that people still wanted to hear his music and that it actually had a positive message to spread. Knowing he wouldn't actually watch this film, he trusted me enough to make sure the music was being used in a positive way - it's a very sweet and innocent moment in what is a debauched film. I love it and I love that he let me pitch it for this moment.


Satine February 03, 2014

Love this!

Complicated Disaster February 03, 2014

Cool!

Herzog February 03, 2014

So were you were responsible for 'Tiny Dancer' being in Almost Famous? That's kind of a popular reference these days! Music use in ads and films would be an even more complicated legal matter now with the advent of 'moral rights'.

Camdengirl Herzog ⋅ February 04, 2014

Nope - just that Cat Stevens track. Moral rights have always existed in music, they just weren't exercised quite so often since no one in the UK would know you'd done a dog food commercial in Australia - the advent of the Internet means you have to think of the global impact of synch rights.

Etoile Filante February 04, 2014

Oh my god, I love Almost Famous. That's so so cool!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.