So It Goes... in Magical Realism

  • Feb. 2, 2018, 10:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Writing is like swimming right? I just need to start, and then it will get easier.

When I last wrote, it was late April. In early May my dad was honored at the first in a series of ceremonies where he was added to various 9/11 memorials and received posthumous medals and awards. (After his death in 2014, a decision was made by leadership that NYPD first responders who died from health problems caused by their service during/after the 9/11 attacks will be deemed “line of duty” deaths.)

The first memorial was at 1 Police Plaza and it was pouring rain. It seemed apt. After the ceremony we queued for a depressing buffet lunch and then raced uptown in a nondescript black van, tinted windows, lights on. My brother drove, sirens screeching, to the Empire State Building where there was another memorial. A group of children got to push the button to illuminate the ESB in honor of their dead parents. Cold comfort for losing your parent at that age, but they seemed okay, enough. You can get used to anything I guess.

I said goodbyes, walked out into the rain and poured myself into a dry martini at the first hotel bar I passed. A humors me and my poor coping mechanisms. Later on I downloaded the data for “End of Watch” line of duty deaths and ran the stats. My surname is 10th most common for NYPD line of duty death since 1865.

What else? 2017 was horrible, and amazing. Friends died. Many suffered. I was fortunate, I won awards, swam with icebergs and had beautiful experiences beyond compare. After a year of questing, I completed the Ice Sevens Challenge, the first person in history. I won the inaugural 40 Bridges double race around Manhattan in record time. I worked a lot and volunteered a lot and astonishingly was voted into the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

When you succeed, you attract false friends and real enemies. When you’re on top of the world, no one asks you if you’re okay.

I am waiting for the Lunar New Year here in Hong Kong now. I am creating things to look forward to, in the coming Year of the Dog. This is going to be a good year. Let’s make it a good year.


Last updated March 16, 2018


Red February 02, 2018

Sending you lots of love. <3

Deleted user February 02, 2018

I love reading about your life and I hope you find this entry helps you write more. There are so many intense things in your life. Extreme highs and lows. The Ice Sevens Challenge - WOW... way to go. hugs Wishing you some faithful, genuine friends.

Ginger February 02, 2018

Wow, those are some impressive accomplishments!

I've always struggled with writing consistently, but it does get easier the more you put in the effort.

I'm sorry for your loss. It continues to astound me how many people were touched by the tragedy that took place that day.

Hope to see more posts about your exciting endeavors!

Jigger February 02, 2018

I'm glad you're here. High or low, you're a favorite writer. I hope for more highs.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.