S. Bang and Dalmore in Pipe Stuff

  • Jan. 27, 2018, 2:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

https://imgur.com/AmIhSMJalt text
We’re going to start in the near present to save ourselves some grief. We as in I’m drawing you in to share the culpability and ourselves as in myself. I like the present, it’s pretty much a roly poly ball of inertia. The past has too many tears and other bodily fluids. Hopefully the future has bodily fluids as well, just in moderation.

This is, in theory, a pipe blog thing. Oh, oh, wait a second. Look out your window, it’s 2018. That present. For reference; when they turneds phillip Dicks Novel Do Androids Dream of Electronic Sheep into the movie Blade runner, the present was 2018. Lo and behold there’s a skinjob in the white house.

Ok, pipe blog, doesn’t mean I’m not still Haredawg, just means you can avoid most of the pipe stuff by not entering the folder that I’ll probably call something like pipe stuff. Hopefully at the top of this will be a picture of a nice S. Bang bent Brandy in front of a bottle of Twelve year old Dalmore single malt. Both came from real people that exist, too, in the digital world. 2018 y’all.

A piece of ancient pipe wisdom; at a certain price point you get diminishing return for your investment. Another piece of pipe wisdom; a pipe is NOT an investment. Both pieces of wisdom are absolutely true and sort of bullshit. Diminishing return doesn’t really mean anything, it’s something non-money guys say to sound like money guys (anyone want me to go all gender equal and include women in saying shit to sound more informed than they are?). But, yeah, at a certain point you are no longer paying for function. Unless you restore pipes for a living it’s unlikely you’ll make any money at smoking a pipe and reselling it. That’s way to practical a statement for any collector or anything.

The pipe pictured above is expensive, I got a bit of a deal on it, the seller was probably thinking that’d go the other way. Still expensive. However, it smokes extremely well, which, you know, is what it’s for. I don’t plan on making money from it, I don’t plan on selling it, but I’m pretty sure I’d break even.

Hmmmm. This isn’t a pipe blog for pipe smokers, I’d be surprised if it became one, so, what makes a pipe smoke well? All magic and alignment of stars aside; all the holes are perfectly in place, the draw is open and even and the opening in the bottom of the bowl is perfectly dead center in the bottom so you don’t suck flakes of burning tobacco in (not that that’s common, it just illustrates one of the obvious reasons why that placement is good, so good, in fact, one wonders why any pipe would be drilled differently).

I have a much larger collection than I need, and the range of value and cost is broad. Not all my pipes with pause-a-moment retail stickers smoke well and not all my pipes that are in the half a carton of smokes range smoke poorly. We put aside magic and the alignment of stars just a paragraph back (and other implied superstitions) and maybe we shouldn’t have, I blame you. Everything can go right with a pipe and it still goes sideways and so can an ugly, poorly made pipe somehow manage to smoke like a dream. And, of course, there’s you. Not only does tobacco affect your mood, you affect its.

I’m going to shut the hell up now before I decide this idea is a bad one. I’ll do that some other day. S. Bang and Dalmore 12 y/o


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.