Award Night in Day by Day

  • Jan. 26, 2018, 12:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m to receive an award tonight at the inspirational conference held at our church. The speakers go around the country, inspiring women and honoring those who have overcome adversity and gone on to do good things in the community. I was chosen out of the nominees.

Truth be known, I usually skip this type of thing. I don’t know what a couple of women in their 40s/50s can teach 65 year old me (maybe I should be teaching THEM?) and I’m not needy enough to need ego stroking.

I’d rather just stay home and continue to get well (finished the Z-pack today!). BUT. It will bring attention to the non-profit and I can put out a donation bucket, so I’m not going to pass it up.

I also powered through to finish up the web page for the May 1st matching fund drive with a local foundation. All donations from $25 to $100 are matched AND local companies are offering money prizes for different contests (best video, most donors, etc.). There are about 10 contests. We qualify for 8 of them, but I can only stretch myself so far, so I’m going for 6. Between donations and prizes, I think we can raise $25K to $75K, so it was worth making all the changes before they lock the website down until the day of the drive.

So, despite being sick, I’m busy, which has taken a lot out of me. I AM better today, though. No fever and coughing less.

A new neighbor lost her calico cat. KittyCat is part calico, but mostly striped. We have another neighbor who keeps calling new neighbor, claiming he saw her cat at my house, so new neighbor keeps knocking on my door. I let her in to look at my cat (she agrees its not hers) and look inside my house (kind of resented it though) and look in my bushes. I tried to tell her KittyCat does not tolerate other cats and would chase it off even if it had come around, but the other neighbor keeps insisting that I took her cat so new neighbor keeps coming around.

Then she got weird. She knocked on the door at 8:30 PM to ask if she could put her blouse in my garden to see if her scent would draw the cat. I told her she could for ONE NIGHT. Still, it creeped me out. Seemed almost voo-doo-like. I’m trying to be patient, but geez, she looks around my age. She’s never had a cat disappear on her before?

I’ve had KittyCat since Thanksgiving. New neighbor moved in a month ago. I didn’t steal anybody’s cat. I hope new neighbor finally accepts that.

Wish me luck tonight!


GypsyWynd January 26, 2018

Congratulations on the award. Even though you don't need it, it is good publicity for the non profit.
Strange about the neighbor.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ January 26, 2018

Thanks!

Chic Chat January 26, 2018

All the luck to you! Congratulations by the way. You can always learn a thing or two from us youngins 😉

LOL stealing a cat. Wow. Neighbor sounds a little silly.

ConnieK Chic Chat ⋅ January 27, 2018

Thank you. I'll post the video when they send it to me.

a mote, floating January 26, 2018

Congratulations and good luck! And thanks for all the good works!
That's pretty batty about the cats (well, the humans). Hope KittyCat's non-doppleganger-but-whatever comes home soon.

ConnieK a mote, floating ⋅ January 27, 2018

Me, too, but we live near a busy street. On the other side of busy street is a dog park and a green belt behind our neighborhood on the other side. There are a lot of dogs and raccoons in the neighborhood and I've seen at least one bobcat as she was moving her kits.

Ragdolls January 26, 2018

I think that I would gather up new neighbor and my kitty and confront other neighbor. Other neighbor needs to be set straight as to whose kitty is whose.

ConnieK Ragdolls ⋅ January 27, 2018

New neighbor will not tell me who it is.

Ferret Mom January 30, 2018

That is so weird about her showing up at your door repeatedly. And the blouse thing... just creepy!

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ January 30, 2018

Yeah. It was strange to have her coming to my door but the blouse thing was really the clincher. I'm happy to report there are no clothes in my garden and she hasn't been back! LOL!

Wranglingal January 30, 2018

Congratulations, you deserved it!!

ConnieK Wranglingal ⋅ January 30, 2018

Thank you!

Wranglingal January 30, 2018

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.