The Bird in Talk Story

  • Jan. 15, 2018, 7:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

A neighbor… a woman friend of mine invited me over to join her for dinner last night… and when I got to her house… told me that a bird had flown into her living room while she had the sliding glass door open…
She had not seen the bird since it came in… but was sure it was still in the house…
I suggested that perhaps it had flown upstairs… but rather than look for it… let’s wait and see if it flys back downstairs… and with that… we started to enjoy our dinner…
After dinner… and still no bird sighting… we started playing cribbage… and it was then that my friend thought it would be okay if she just left the door open to the outside when she went to bed… and perhaps the bird would leave…
I asked her to imagine… that if it didn’t… what it might be like for her to be awakened at 2 am… to discover the bird standing on her nose…
All of sudden the bird made it’s presence known by flying across the dining room table where we were sitting… and then down the hall… into the bathroom…
My friend thought it would be a good idea… if she shut off all the lights into the house… opened the sliding glass door… and turned on the outside light… hoping the bird would then leave…
I told her that I had a better idea… walked into the bathroom and shut the door… saw the bird on the counter… covered it with a wash cloth… picked it up… and headed back to the living room which by now was pitch black…
I asked my friend to turn on a light… open the slider while I carried the bird outside… and please close the door after me (so the bird would not reenter the house)…
Once outside… I set the bird down… turned around to come back into the house… and promptly walked into the screen door…

All is well with me… and really nothing new… but I did manage to wash my car yesterday… yes… just in time for the rain that hit today…..

Aloha oe…


crystal butterfly January 15, 2018

Having had birds in my house I think you had the better idea.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ January 16, 2018

Yes... all's well... that ends.............!

TruNorth January 15, 2018

Well, that was exciting! I would also be a bit tense not knowing the whereabouts of the bird (especially with my cats prowling around the house).

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ January 16, 2018

Yes... and my friend has a cat as well...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.