January 13th, 2018; A Snowy Day in 2018: Another Journey

Revised: 01/13/2018 5:48 p.m.

  • Jan. 13, 2018, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Today I woke up horrified and annoyed at the thought of driving to work. It had snowed last night for hours and had iced over all of the roads on the way to work. Steven got up before me and very kindly scraped the layers of ice off of my car window so that I could sleep in just a little bit longer; another kind and loving gesture from the perfect boyfriend.
When I arrived at work many people were already there, and it was a fairly slow day because people in Kentucky do not know how to handle a dusting of snow. I imagine if you lived somewhere like New York or Ohio or Utah, this kind of weather would have been no big deal.
Mark did not come into work until 12, so I was already irritated working alone but I tried to make the best of it. I think the worst part of my day was when he finally came into work and told me that he and Sarah were I guess “back together” again as friends. But I know that this did not mean they were going to be “friends”. I know Mark cares for her too greatly to just be “friends”, and it pains me to see him be hurt by her again. If it were up to me I would rather he never talk to her again. I mean, leading someone on for almost 2 years makes you a bad person in my book.
He may say she doesn’t lead him on but she does. If a girl allows you to kiss her on the cheek at work and give her loving embraces in front of everyone and says I LOVE YOU, but still says she doesn’t want to date you something is wrong. I still don’t understand why I care so much about the two of them though. It’s really none of my business…but it bothers me down to the core. It did so much so that I avoided him my entire shift, which is hard to do when we work in the same department.
I think he knows that I am upset. When he told me I luckily had a customer flag me down for help with printers so that I could escape the encounter. However, I am an open book in the face and I KNOW that he knows I am not happy about it.
When I finally got to leave work, I did not say good bye. As the Loss Prevention Associate was checking my coat and bag before leaving the building, Mark said something to him over the headset. D then looked at me and pointed behind him. From across the store, Mark waved good bye to me. I gave him a meek wave in return and immediately averted my eyes in hopes that he could not read me again. I am sure he will interrogate me later when we play Xbox tonight.
Maybe if I get offline before Saint, our other friend from work, leaves our party chat, then he won’t have a chance to ask me about it in private. As for now, I am just glad to be safely at home and away from the invisible wall of emotion that overwhelms me at work. Sometimes I can’t even manage the energy to look up at customer service and see him loitering around her like a bee drawn to honey. I wish I worked on the opposite side of the store.

-A


Last updated January 13, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.